Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Questions before beginning your research
After you've decided on a potential topic, ask yourself the following questions:
1. Who might collect the data necessary to produce the statistics? (think of government agencies, organizations, institutions, or groups). If you'd like to search for specific agencies, try the following:
2. Is it likely the statistics will be made available? Data collected on health information is sometimes confidential and thus not publicly available. Find some background information on the topic. Secondary literature may be of use for this. Use the Find Articles tab to select a database with secondary literature.
3. What is your time frame and geography? Very recent statistics may not be available.
-Questions adapted from the guide How to Find Data & Statistics
Data vs. Statistics
- Data is the raw information produced from a study. (machine readable files; need statistical software program to interpret)
- Statistics provide an interpretation of the data. (tables, graphs, charts)
Access Gallup data from countries that are home to more than 98% of the world's population through a state-of-the-art Web-based portal. Gallup Analytics puts Gallup's best global intelligence in users' hands to help them better understand the strengths and challenges of the world's countries and regions. Users can access Gallup's U.S. Daily tracking and World Poll data to compare residents' responses region by region and nation by nation to questions on topics such as economic conditions, government and business, health and well-being, infrastructure, and education.
ProQuest Statistical Insight
ProQuest Statistical Insight provides fast and easy access to statistical information produced by U.S. Federal agencies, States, private organizations, and major intergovernmental organizations. PQSI brings together a massive collection of statistical data in a single easy-to-use search interface, with additional features such as descriptive abstracts, detailed indexing, full-text PDFs of source documents, tables, and downloadable spreadsheets containing table data.
Provides access to statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources on over 600 industries.
Websites for datasets
Health, United States is a report on trends in health statistics. It was an annual publication through 2019. Search the PDF or use the Data Finder feature to browse for data sets by subject and population.
CDC: Data & Statistics
Search for data on the CDC website.
Agency for Healthcare Research & Quality
The Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) provides a range of data resources in the form of online, searchable databases. Data are provided on topics such as the use of health care, the costs of care, health care systems, trends in hospital care, health insurance coverage, out-of-pocket spending, and patient satisfaction.
World Health Organization (WHO)
WHO is the directing and coordinating authority for health within the United Nations system. It is responsible for providing leadership on global health matters, shaping the health research agenda, setting norms and standards, articulating evidence-based policy options, providing technical support to countries and monitoring and assessing health trends.
COVID-19 and other Specific Data Table Compilations
Statistical time series for countries from around the world covering a wide range of economic and socio-demographic topics.
FAOSTAT provides free access to food and agriculture data for over 245 countries and territories and covers all FAO regional groupings from 1961 to the most recent year available.
Statistical information from core UNICEF studies, as well as the data (& datasets) from its supported Multiple Indicator Cluster Surveys (MICS); a major source of global development data.
Corona Virus Critical Trends
From the Johns Hopkins Corona Virus Research Center, track how the novel coronavirus is spreading around the globe with up-to-date visuals that give context to the data collected.
CDC Covid Data Tracker
Find maps and charts tracking cases, deaths, and trends of COVID-19 in the United States, updated daily by 8 pm EST
World Health Organization (WHO) Coronavirus Disease Dashboard
Visualizations, tables, and related data available to export.