Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Whether you have a topic in mind or you need to explore some possibilities, subject encyclopedias provide concise overviews which identify the who, what, where, and when related to your topic of interest. Adding this grounding to what you already know can help to focus a broad topic idea down to a more specific research question. Subject encyclopedias can also provide key terms to use when searching in databases for additional research materials. Many entries in the subject encyclopedias linked below conclude with a short bibliography of relevant books and articles which can jump start your research.
The Encyclopedia of Women in Today's World by
Publication Date: 2011
"From A-to-Z, this work will cover the spectrum of defining women in the contemporary world . . . information relevant to the following academic disciplinary contexts: arts and media; business and economics; criminal justice; education; family studies; health; media; military; politics; science and technology; sports; religion; and women in different cultures and countries"
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Women's Issues Worldwide by
Publication Date: 2003
characterizes contemporary women's issues in various world regions, with chapters for individual (or related) countries. Each country chapter addresses education, employment & economics, family & sexuality, health, politics & law. religion & spirituality, outlook for the 21st century, and includes references.
Women's Rights in the United States by
Publication Date: 2014
Traces the history of the women's rights movement in the United States from the American Revolution to the present day.
Oxford Reference Online
Online version of many Oxford University Press reference works, ranging from specialized dictionaries and companions to major reference works such as the Encyclopedia of Human Rights, the Oxford Encyclopedia of Food and Drink, the Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States, and the Oxford Encyclopedia of Economic History, among many others.
Searchable database of several hundred subject encyclopedias and other reference works across all subject areas, but with particular strengths in the social sciences and humanities. It includes a number of major reference works, and is Northwesterns largest single collection of reference materials. A good source for authoritative background information.
Offers annotated bibliographies of the most important books and articles on specific topics in a growing range of subject areas. Particularly useful for anyone beginning research.