Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

English: Medieval

Areas of Study: Medieval

Key Resources in Medieval Studies

The following is a list of recommended resources of library-owned databases, open access collections, guides and reference sources, and other online materials. To browse all of the library's database subscriptions, click here.

  • Corpus of Middle English Prose and Verse
    This collection of Middle English texts was assembled from works contributed by University of Michigan faculty and from texts provided by the Oxford Text Archive, as well as works created specifically for the Corpus by the Humanities Text Initiatives.

  • Dictionary of Old English Web Corpus
    An essential electronic reference for all scholars of Old and Middle English.

  • Digital Medievalist
    An international web-based community for medievalists working with digital media. It was established in 2003 to help scholars meet the increasingly sophisticated demands faced by designers of contemporary digital projects.

  • Digital Scriptorium
    A growing consortium of American libraries and museums committed to free online access to their collections of pre-modern manuscripts. Our website unites scattered resources from many institutions into a national digital platform for teaching and scholarly research.

  • Early English Books Online (EEBO)
    Features page images of almost every work printed in the British Isles and North America, as well as works in English printed elsewhere from 1470-1700. Over 200 libraries worldwide have contributed to EEBO.

  • English Short Title Catalogue
    Provides extensive descriptions and holdings information for materials printed in English anywhere else in the world. Coverage is from the beginnings of print to 1800.

  • Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index
    Covers journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages.

  • Hyperbibliography of Middle English
    Includes all the Middle English materials which are cited in the Middle English Dictionary.

  • International Medieval Bibliography
    Provides citations to articles, conferences proceedings and essays in medieval history. Covers all aspects of the Middle Ages and includes Europe, the Middle East, and North Africa from 300 CE to 1500 CE.

  • Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance
    This resource is a bibliography of secondary source material pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance. Included are citations for books, journal articles, reviews, review articles, bibliographies, catalogues, abstracts and discographies. Also included are citations for dissertation abstracts and essays in books.

  • Lexikon des Mittelalters & International Encyclopaedia for the Middle Ages
    An indispensable research tool for medievalists of all disciplines. Based upon the most important encyclopaedia in the world for medievalists (published in German between 1977 and 1999), LexMA’s 36,700 signed articles written by 3,000 authors covers all aspects of medieval studies within the period 300 to 1500.

  • Logeion
    Literally, a place for words; in particular, a speaker's platform, or an archive, Logeion is an open access dictionary comprised of many sources including, the Dictionary of Medieval Latin from British Sources, Perseus Digital Library, and other reference works, textbooks, and collections.  

  • Medieval Travel Writing
    Provides online access to works of European travel writing from the later medieval period chiefly journeys to central Asia and the Far East, including accounts of travel to Mongolia, Persia, India, China and South-East Asia. Dates of works range from the 1200s to the 1500s.

  • Middle English Compendium
    Contains three Middle English electronic resources: the Middle English Dictionary, a Bibliography of Middle English prose and verse, and a Corpus of Middle English Prose and Verse.

  • Middle English Dictionary
    The world's largest searchable database of Middle English lexicon and usage for the period 1100-1500. An invaluable resource for lexicographers, language scholars, and all scholars in medieval studies.

  • Oxford Bibliographies - Medieval Studies
    Provides faculty and students alike with a seamless pathway to the most accurate and reliable resources for a variety of academic topics. Written and reviewed by academic experts, every article in our database is an authoritative guide to the current scholarship, containing original commentary and annotations.

  • Perseus Digital Library
    A partner and supporter of Open Greek and Latin, an international collaboration committed to creating an open educational resource featuring a corpus of digital texts, deep-reading tools, and open-source software.

  • TEAMS Middle English Texts Series
    Electronic editions of middle English texts published by Medieval Institute Publications and TEAMS at the University of Rochester.

English & Digital Humanities Librarian

Profile Photo
Josh Honn
Contact:
University Library, 2 East, Suite 2699A
josh.honn@northwestern.edu
(847) 467-4761
Subjects: English