Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

English: Early Modern

Areas of Study: Early Modern

Key Resources in Early Modern Studies

The following is a list of recommended resources of library-owned databases, open access collections, guides and reference sources, and other online materials. To browse all of the library's database subscriptions, click here.

  • British Literary Manuscripts Online, c. 1660-1900
    British Literary Manuscripts Online, c. 1660-1900, presents facsimile images of literary manuscripts, including letters and diaries, drafts of poems, plays, novels, and other literary works, and similar materials.

  • Digital Anthology of Early Modern English Drama
    Opens a window on the vibrant theatrical community in which Shakespeare built his career. Unlike other Folger resources about Shakespeare and his plays, Early Modern English Drama (EMED) features the plays by other playwrights, illuminating an extraordinary era of artistic ferment.

  • Early English Books Online (EEBO)
    Contains digital facsimile page images of most extant works printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700 - from the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the tumult of the English Civil War.

  • Early English Prose Fiction
    Includes over 200 complete works of fictional prose by writers from the British Isles. The entire text of each work is presented, including prefatory matter, author annotations, illustrations, contents pages, appendices, dedications, and errata. Users may search by author, title, keyword, gender of the author, and by publication date.

  • Early Modern Manuscripts Online (EMMO)
    Provides scholars and the general public with convenient web access to transcriptions, images, and metadata for manuscripts from the sixteenth  and seventeenth centuries.

  • Encyclopedia of English Renaissance Literature
    Presents broad coverage and in-depth critical analysis of multiple aspects of the English literary landscape from the early sixteenth to the mid-seventeenth centuries. Featuring over 400 clear and accessible entries on a wide range of writers and literary topics.
     

  • English Broadside Ballad Archive
    Making broadside ballads of the seventeenth century fully accessible as texts, art, music, and cultural records.

  • English Poetry, Second Edition
    Contains more than 183,000 poems, comprising essentially the complete canon of poetry in English from the 8th century to the early 20th. Drawn from nearly 4,900 sources, the collection represents the work of more than 2,700 poets. Also includes poetry written in English by authors from Ireland, Australia, and New Zealand.

  • English Prose Drama
    Contains plays published in English prose from the early sixteenth century to the end of the nineteenth century by writers from the British Isles.

  • English Short Title Catalog
    Provides extensive descriptions and holdings information for materials printed in English anywhere else in the world. Coverage is from the beginnings of print to 1800.

  • English Verse Drama
    More than 2,000 works by 450 named authors and approximately 230 anonymous works. English Verse Drama contains works acted on or intended for the stage, which are either wholly or predominantly in verse. Any accompanying text written by the playwright and forming an integral part of the work, such as epigraphs, dramatis personae and notes, is generally also included.

  • Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance
    A bibliography of secondary source material pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance. Included are citations for books, journal articles, reviews, review articles, bibliographies, catalogues, abstracts and discographies. Also included are citations for dissertation abstracts and essays in books.

  • Lexicons of Early Modern English (LEME)
    An historical database of monolingual, bilingual, and polyglot dictionaries, lexical encyclopedias, hard-word glossaries, spelling lists, and lexically-valuable treatises surviving in print or manuscript from the Tudor, Stuart, Caroline, Commonwealth, and Restoration periods.

  • Map of Early Modern London
    Comprised of four distinct, interoperable projects: a digital edition of the 1561 Agas woodcut map of London; an Encyclopedia and Descriptive Gazetteer of London people, places, topics, and terms; a Library of marked-up texts rich in London toponyms; and a versioned edition of John Stow’s Survey of London.

  • Oxford Bibliographies Online Renaissance and Reformation
    Provides peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on the period of the Renaissance and Reformation, which spans roughly from the 14th through 17th centuries.

  • Paleography Resources
    The Newberry Library's Center for Renaissance Studies maintains a listing of online resources for those interested in paleography.

  • Records of Early English Drama
    An international scholarly project that is establishing for the first time the context from which the drama of Shakespeare and his contemporaries grew.

  • Renaissance Festival Books
    View 253 digitized Renaissance festival books (selected from over 2,000 in the British Library's collection) that describe the magnificent festivals and ceremonies that took place in Europe between 1475 and 1700 - marriages and funerals of royalty and nobility, coronations, stately entries into cities and other grand events.

  • Women Writers Project
    A long-term research project devoted to early modern women's writing and electronic text encoding. Our goal is to bring texts by pre-Victorian women writers out of the archive and make them accessible to a wide audience of teachers, students, scholars, and the general reader.

  • World Shakespeare Bibliography
    Provides annotated entries for books, articles, book reviews, dissertations, theatrical productions, reviews of productions, and other scholarly and popular materials related to Shakespeare and published since 1966.

English & Digital Humanities Librarian

Profile Photo
Josh Honn
Contact:
University Library, 2 East, Suite 2699A
josh.honn@northwestern.edu
(847) 467-4761
Subjects: English