Key Resources in 19th Century Studies
The following is a list of recommended resources of library-owned databases, open access collections, guides and reference sources, and other online materials. To browse all of the library's database subscriptions, click here.
19th Century Masterfile
A vast "index of indexes" for Anglo-American historical research prior to 1930 that covers periodicals, newspapers, books, and U.S. and British government documents. Links to full text are provided when available.
19th Century UK Periodicals
Provides access to an enormous range of periodical literature published in Great Britain 1800-1900 of interest to historians and students of nineteenth-century literature and culture, empire, feminism, the history of the book, the creative and performing arts, sport and leisure, science and medicine, and the professions.
19th Century U.S. Newspapers Digital Archive
With digital facsimile images of both full pages and clipped articles for hundreds of 19th century U.S. newspapers and advanced searching capabilities, researchers will be able to research history in ways previously unavailable.
19th Century Yellowbacks
Digitized collection of over 1,200 yellowbacks in its collection. At more than 4,000 books, Emory's yellowback collection is the second largest in the United States.This site features some of the digitized yellowbacks, available to download and read as a PDF.
African American Newspapers, 1827-1998
Provides online access to approximately 270 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience. This unique collection, which includes papers from more than 35 states, features many rare and historically significant 19th-century titles.
African American Poetry, 1760-1900
Searchable collection of poems of 54 African-American poets writing in the 18th and 19th centuries. The bibliographic source for the database is Afro-American Poetry and Drama 1760-1975 by W.P. French, et al.
American Drama 1714-1915
Contains more than 1,500 dramatic works from the early eighteenth century up to the beginning of the twentieth, American Drama includes verse, farces, melodramas, minstrel shows, realist plays, and frontier plays.
American Poetry Full-Text Database, pre-1900
Searchable full-text database includes works of over 200 American poets and six anthologies of American poetry. Intended to cover earliest years through 1900.
British Literary Manuscripts Online, c. 1660-1900
Presents facsimile images of literary manuscripts, including letters and diaries, drafts of poems, plays, novels, and other literary works, and similar materials. Images of the complete manuscript can be viewed, manipulated and navigated on screen. Please note that the text of the manuscripts themselves is not searchable.
Discovering Literature: Romantics & Victorians
Exploring the Romantic and Victorian periods, Discovering Literature brings together a wealth of the British Library’s greatest literary treasures, including numerous original manuscripts, first editions and rare illustrations.
Documenting the American South
Provides access to texts, images, and audio files related to southern history, literature, and culture from the 17th century through 1922. Currently includes ten thematic collections of books, diaries, posters, artifacts, letters,and oral histories.
Early American Fiction 1789 - 1875
Facsimile page images and keyword-searchable full text for more than four hundred works of American prose fiction published before 1875.
Early American Imprints, Series II. Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819
Covering every aspect of American life during the early decades of the United States, this database provides full-text access to the 36,000 American books, pamphlets and broadsides published in the first nineteen years of the nineteenth century (1801-1819).
Encyclopedia of Victorian Literature
Multi-volume reference work studies the most recent critical trends in Victorian scholarship, and spans the full sweep of literary genres and figures that define this influential period. The definitive reference for anyone - student, scholar, librarian for courses in literature, English literature, and Victorian literature.
English Poetry, Second Edition
Contains more than 183,000 poems, comprising essentially the complete canon of poetry in English from the 8th century to the early 20th. Drawn from nearly 4,900 sources, the collection represents the work of more than 2,700 poets. Also includes poetry written in English by authors from Ireland, Australia, and New Zealand.
English Prose Drama
Contains plays published in English prose from the early sixteenth century to the end of the nineteenth century by writers from the British Isles.
English Verse Drama
More than 2,000 works by 450 named authors and approximately 230 anonymous works. English Verse Drama contains works acted on or intended for the stage, which are either wholly or predominantly in verse. Any accompanying text written by the playwright and forming an integral part of the work, such as epigraphs, dramatis personae and notes, is generally also included.
HarpWeek enables you to directly experience the richness and historical significance of Harpers Weekly, America's leading 19th century illustrated newspaper. Covers 1857-1908.
Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980
A compilation of Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries. The collection features hundreds of Hispanic American newspapers, including many long scattered and forgotten titles published in the 19th century.
Illustrated London News Historical Archive, 1842-2003
Provides online access to the Illustrated London News for its entire run from 1842 through 2003.
John Johnson Collection: An Archive of Printed Ephemera
Provides access to 67,754 scanned items (a total of 174,196 images), including more than 20,700 pieces of theatrical and non-theatrical ephemera from the nineteenth-century entertainment category. Other materials include items from the book trade, popular prints, crimes, nurders and executions, and advertising.
London Low Life
Provides online access to rare books, ephemera, maps and other materials relating to 18th, 19th and early 20th century London. The phrase "Low Life," in this context, refers to fast literature and street ephemera, including broadsides, cartoons, playbills, advertising, ballads and penny fiction.
Making of America
A digital library of primary sources in American social history primarily from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. The book collection currently contains approximately 10,000 books with 19th century imprints.
Provides an integrated publishing environment for aggregated, peer-reviewed online scholarship in nineteenth-century studies, British and American.
Nineteenth Century Collections Online: Religion, Society, Spirituality, and Reform
Examines the influence of both faith and skepticism on the shaping of many aspects of society—-politics, law, economics, and social and radical reform movements. In the 19th century, the intellectual work of Comte, Marx, Weber, Darwin, Freud, and others unleashed secularizing impulses that gave rise to both new humanist religious projects and new faith-based social reform movements.
Nineteenth Century Fiction
Includes the major prose fiction of the Romantic and Victorian periods as well as many neglected or little-known works. Each text is reproduced in full, including all prefatory matter and annotations by the original author.
Oxford Bibliographies - Victorian Liiterature
Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on the literature of the Victorian period, which encompasses the reign of Queen Victoria from 1837 to 1901.
A collection of full-text electronic editions of significant works in philosophy, literature, political thought, religious thought, history of science, and social theory. Original language texts in English, Latin, French, German, Danish and Dutch, as well as some works in English translation. The texts are taken from high-quality critical editions, and a number of search options are offered.
Punch Historical Archive, 1841-1992
Includes the complete run of the weekly magazine, as well as its annual Almanack, seasonal issues, and indexes. The archive also correlates the previously anonymous articles and those written under pseudonyms with the private ledgers of contributors kept by the Punch editors, in many cases revealing for the first time the true identity of the authors.
Victorian studies for the 21st century.
Victorian Database Online
Index of over 100,000 citations to articles, books, book chapters and dissertations regarding all fields of nineteenth-century British studies published 1945-present.
Victorian Popular Culture
A resource for the study of popular entertainment in the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries.
Victorian Women Writers Project
Primarily concerned with the exposure of lesser-known British women writers of the 19th century. The collection represents an array of genres—poetry, novels, children's books, political pamphlets, religious tracts, histories, and more.
Waterloo Directory of English Newspapers and Periodicals, 1800-1900
A subject-inclusive, language-inclusive bibliography of 73,000 publications, 68,000 personal names, 6,300 issuing bodies, 2,400 publishing towns, 23,000 title pages, 2,000 subjects.
Women Writers Project
A long-term research project devoted to early modern women's writing and electronic text encoding. Our goal is to bring texts by pre-Victorian women writers out of the archive and make them accessible to a wide audience of teachers, students, scholars, and the general reader.
Wright American Fiction
A collection of 19th century American fiction, as listed in Lyle Wright's bibliography American Fiction, 1851-1875.