Key Resources in 18th Century Studies
The following is a list of recommended resources of library-owned databases, open access collections, guides and reference sources, and other online materials. To browse all of the library's database subscriptions, click here.
17th-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers
Searchable full-text access to the British Library's collection of the newspapers, pamphlets, and books gathered by Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817).
17th-18th Century Nichols Newspapers Collection
Features the newspapers, periodicals, pamphlets and broadsheets that form the Nichols newspaper collection held at the Bodleian library in Oxford, UK. All 296 volumes of bound material, covering the period 1672-1737 are presented in digitized format here.
18th Century Connect
A collaborative initiative in partnership with NINES that searches thousands of peer-reviewed digital objects.
America's Historical Newspapers
Allows you to search and browse American newspapers published across three centuries. It includes thousands of titles from all 50 states and chronicles the evolution of American culture and daily life from 1690 to the recent past.
American Drama, 1714-1915
Contains more than 1,500 dramatic works from the early eighteenth century up to the beginning of the twentieth and includes verse, farces, melodramas, minstrel shows, realist plays, and frontier plays.
American Periodicals Series
Full text database of American periodicals that began publishing between 1740 and 1900, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines, and many more.
British Literary Manuscripts Online, c. 1660-1900
Presents facsimile images of literary manuscripts, including letters and diaries, drafts of poems, plays, novels, and other literary works, and similar materials. Images of the complete manuscript can be viewed, manipulated and navigated on screen. Please note that the text of the manuscripts themselves is not searchable.
British Periodicals Online
Three part collection. This resource provides online access to 400 British periodicals from the late seventeenth to the early twentieth century. Subject areas covered include literature, philosophy, history, science, the fine arts and the social sciences. All titles are full text searchable and contain high-resolution facsimile page images.
Documenting the American South
Provides access to texts, images, and audio files related to southern history, literature, and culture from the 17th century through 1922. Currently includes ten thematic collections of books, diaries, posters, artifacts, letters,and oral histories.
Early American Fiction, 1789-1875
Facsimile page images and keyword-searchable full text for more than four hundred works of American prose fiction published before 1875.
Early American Imprints, Series I, 1639-1800
Based on the renowned American bibliography by Charles Evans and enhanced by Roger Bristols Supplement to Evans American bibliography, this database, which provides full text, is a foundation for research on every aspect of 17th and 18th century American life.
Eighteenth Century Collection Online
Full-text searchable facsimile page displays of approximately 150,000 books published in Britain and its colonies during the 18th century.
Eighteenth Century Drama: Society Censorship & the Stage
A unique archive of almost every play submitted for license between 1737 and 1824, and hundreds of documents that provide social context for the plays, including London Stage, 1600-1800.
Eighteenth Century Fiction
A collection of 96 complete works of English prose from the period 1700-1780 by writers from the British Isles. Key figures covered include Daniel Defoe, Henry Fielding, Eliza Haywood, Samuel Richardson, Tobias Smollett, Laurence Sterne and Jonathan Swift.
Eighteenth Century Journals
Portal to rare journals printed between 1685 and 1835, illuminating all aspects of eighteenth-century social, political and literary life. Topics include: the writings of Sir Isaac Newton; the French Revolution; reviews of literature, the theater, and fashion throughout Europe; the origins and rise of Romanticism; political debates; gender, religion, influence of the press, and coffee house gossip and discussion.
Encyclopedia of Romantic Literature
A comprehensive reference resource covering British artistic, literary, and intellectual movements from the late eighteenth century to the early nineteenth century, within the context of European, transatlantic, and colonial historical and cultural interaction.
English Poetry, Second Edition
Contains more than 183,000 poems, comprising essentially the complete canon of poetry in English from the 8th century to the early 20th. Drawn from nearly 4,900 sources, the collection represents the work of more than 2,700 poets. Also includes poetry written in English by authors from Ireland, Australia, and New Zealand.
English Prose Drama
Contains plays published in English prose from the early sixteenth century to the end of the nineteenth century by writers from the British Isles.
English Verse Drama
More than 2,000 works by 450 named authors and approximately 230 anonymous works. English Verse Drama contains works acted on or intended for the stage, which are either wholly or predominantly in verse. Any accompanying text written by the playwright and forming an integral part of the work, such as epigraphs, dramatis personae and notes, is generally also included.
A collection of full-text electronic editions of significant works in philosophy, literature, political thought, religious thought, history of science, and social theory. Original language texts in English, Latin, French, German, Danish and Dutch, as well as some works in English translation. The texts are taken from high-quality critical editions, and a number of search options are offered.
Women Writers Project
A long-term research project devoted to early modern women's writing and electronic text encoding. Our goal is to bring texts by pre-Victorian women writers out of the archive and make them accessible to a wide audience of teachers, students, scholars, and the general reader.