Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Explore Your Topic
It is a good idea to do some background research when developing your research question. In addition to your in-class readings, here are some places to find background information
Searchable database of several hundred subject encyclopedias and other reference works across all subject areas, but with particular strengths in the social sciences and humanities. It includes a number of major reference works, and is Northwesterns largest single collection of reference materials. A good source for authoritative background information.
Offers annotated bibliographies of the most important books and articles on specific topics in a growing range of subject areas. Particularly useful for anyone beginning research.
Subject encyclopedias are also useful in finding background on topics, and they often contain bibliographies that will lead you to secondary sources. These are a few recommendations, but others can be found through NUsearch
The Encyclopedia of Empire by
Publication Date: 2016-01-12
The Encyclopedia of Empire provides exceptional in-depth, comparative coverage of empires throughout human history and across the globe. Coverage includes individual empires, people, events and ideas that shaped the imperial experience as well as comparative themes such as environment, slavery, law, and weaponry.
Publication Date: 2003-09-12
History from 1500 to 2001 has been dominated by colonialism and decolonization. No single subject offers deeper insight into the meeting of East and West. This is a thorough examination of the politics, economy, culture and society of both colonizers and colonized.
Encyclopedia of Postcolonial Studies by
Publication Date: 2016-01-28
The Encyclopedia of Postcolonial Studies brings together the most wide-ranging and up-to-date scholarship ever assembled on the colonial, postcolonial and neo-colonial condition, covering the period from 1492 to the present. The first and only reference of its kind that treats colonial processes as global and millennial Close to 400 entries offer unprecedented coverage, exploring the dynamics of European conquest from Columbus to China, and critiques of colonialism from Las Casas to Gayatri Spivak
Encyclopedia of Western Colonialism Since 1450 by
Publication Date: 2006-09-01
The work describes and analyzes the many aspects of the history of Europe's expansion overseas into the Americas, Asia, Africa and the Pacific, beginning in the 15th century and the building and collapse of empires (Spanish, Portuguese, British, French, Dutch, German, American). Race relations in decolonized regions as well as current examples of continuing dependence by much of the developing world on Western nations are covered. In addition, a number of the more than 400 articles in the set address the ideology and theories behind colonialism and imperialism, as well as the major and controversial issues at the core of the debate on colonialism and its consequences.