It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Use this step-by-step guide to edit your Google settings so that you see the FIND IT @ NU link with search results. Avoid paywalls!!
Accessing Full Text
Some article databases provide full text while most only provide references to articles.
Look out for the purple "Find it @ NU" button among your database search results.
Click on the button to see if Northwestern provides full text access to the article via one of our electronic journal packages.
Searching with Keywords
This video will show you how to take all the words associated with your topic and help you turn them into sources for your paper.
Can't Find It @NUL?
For materials that are not available via Northwestern, or books that are checked out by someone else, you can submit an interlibrary loan request to have a copy of the item sent here. Articles are sent in digital format and arrive more quickly than books, which are delivered by mail/delivery services; average time to receive a book request is 5-10 days.
If time is tight and you are willing to travel to another library in the Chicagoland area, take advantage of our Reciprocal Borrowingagreements with the University of Chicago, Loyola University of Chicago, and University of Illinois Chicago.
EconLit, the American Economic Association's electronic database, is a comprehensive index to the literature of economics. This database provides citations to journal articles, books, chapters in edited volumes, working papers, dissertations, and book reviews, with selected abstracts and some full-text content. Covers the 1880s-present.
Annual edited volume that covers significant developments in the field of economics, including macroeconomics, microeconomics, economic psychology, international economics, public finance, health economics, and more. Covers 2009-present.
Annual edited volume that provides comprehensive, forward-looking and critical reviews of the most significant theoretical, empirical, and experimental developments in financial economics, including the fields of capital markets, corporate finance, financial institutions, market microstructure, and behavioral and experimental finance. Covers 2009-present.
Annual edited volume that provides authoritative critical reviews evaluating the most significant research developments in resource economics, focusing on agricultural economics, environmental economics, renewable resources, and exhaustible resources.
Digitized, full-text versions of core scholarly journals across disciplines.While coverage of these journals goes back to the first issue, for most journals the most recent issues will be for 3-5 years ago.
Multidisciplinary coverage of over 10,000 journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities, as well as published proceedings for over 12,000 conferences per year, and over 50,000 scholarly books.Powerful tools allow you to search and see what articles in the database have cited a particular work, as well as perform other analytics.
The International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) provides citations in social science and interdisciplinary research, with broad coverage of international material and incorporates over 100 languages and countries. Subject areas include sociology, political science, economics, anthropology, ethnography, demography, education and more. 1951-Present. Individual publication coverage varies by title.
Journal of Economic Perspectives
Professor Lieb recommends the Journal of Economic Perspectives (1987-present) as a good resource for undergraduate economics researchers.
Index focusing on public affairs, public and social policies and international relations. Provides references to journal articles, books, government documents, statistics, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, and more. Covers 1914 to present.
Sociological Abstracts provides citations and abstracts to international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Content coverage includes culture and social structure, history and theory of sociology, race and ethnicity, social change and economic development, and more. 1952-Present. Individual publication coverage varies by title.
Citations with abstracts from more than 1,100 journals in political science and related disciplines. Coverage is international in scope, combining the former Political Science Abstracts and ABC POL SCI databases.