Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Quantitative Data for Studying Racism
Racism, BLM, and More
A starting point for identifying datasets to study topics such as Black Lives Matter protests, police violence, housing inequality rooted in redlining and housing covenants, criminal justice sentencing data, the Black Youth Project collecting data on the attitudes, resources, and culture of the young, urban black millennial.
Historic Statistics - U.S.A.
Historical Statistics of the United States
Call Number: EBook
Publication Date: 2006
>37,000 data series from over 1000 sources, colonial period to present. Topics ranging from migration and health to crime and the Confederate States of America. Data sources are cited, serving as a guide for additional data discovery.
Statistical Abstract of the United States
Call Number: EBook
Publication Date: 1878-2012
Published annually 1878-2012 by the Census Bureau which also provides scanned copies. Compiles most frequently requested statistics about US economy, society, population, environment, etc.
U.S. Federal Data
Multi-Agency Catalogs / Repositories
ICPSR Data Archive
All users can search; only NU-affiliated users can download data hosted by this social science data archive which includes data from selected federal agencies including:
- Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ Multiple Chronic Conditions Research Network Data Archive)
- Census Bureau (public use micro-data samples from the censuses of 2000, 1990, 1980, 1970, 1960, 1950, 1940, and some earlier censuses)
- Census Bureau's TIGER (Topologically Integrated Geographic Encoding and Referencing) database.
- National Institute on Aging (National Archive of Computerized Data on Aging)
- Bureau of Justice Statistics (National Archive of Criminal Justice Statistics)
- Office of Planning, Research and Evaluation, Administration for Children and Families (OPRE),
- U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (Child Care & Early Education Research Connections)
Federal Agency Data by Topic
Crime / Legal Systems
Defense / Military
Defense Manpower Data Center (DMDC)
Military and civilian defense personnel and casualty statistics. This page contains links to sites where data can be requested through online applications that enable filtering of data and data updates.
Data.census.gov is the new platform to access data and digital content from the U.S. Census Bureau and has been designed to simplify access to the Bureau’s many data products. This chart shows data available
. The 2020 Census data will be released on this site.
Microdata Access (MDAT) - Census Bureau
BETA version of tool to replace DataFerret (decommissioned June 2020), is a data analysis and extraction tool that allows you to create custom tables that are not available in the pre-made tables on data.census.gov What is Microdata Access?
IPUMS-USA 1850 to present
The Integrated Public Use Microdata Series (IPUMS-USA) consists of more than sixty integrated, high-precision samples of the American population drawn from sixteen federal censuses, from the American Community Surveys of 2000-present, and from the Puerto Rican Community Surveys of 2005-present. IPUMS is not a collection of compiled statistics; it is composed of microdata
which requires statistical analysis software (SAS, SPSS, Stata, R, etc.) to view and manipulate.
ALFRED (Archival Federal Reserve Economic Data)
ALFRED® allows you to retrieve vintage versions of economic data that were available on specific dates in history. Hosted by the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis
Bureau of Economic Analysis: Data
BEA produces economic accounts statistics, including U.S. gross domestic product (GDP), state and local numbers, plus industry data and foreign trade and investment stats.
Economic Research Service - USDA: Datasets
The Economic Research Service (in the US Dept of Agriculture) produces economic accounts statistics and analysis about agriculture, food, the environment, and rural America..
Federal Reserve Economic Data (FRED)
From the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis, Download, graph, and track 763,000 US and international time series from 94 sources. FRED also provides Federal Reserve Bank publications and working papers on monetary policy and economic conditions.
National Agricultural Statistics Service
Presents statistics covering virtually every aspect of U.S. agriculture.
Search, display and download (SQL database, API) US federal expenditures. Follow the money from the Congressional appropriations to the federal agencies and down to local communities and businesses.
Health Care / Public Health
Agency for Health Care Research & Quality
the lead Federal agency charged with improving the safety and quality of America's health care system. Data, tools, and expertise.
Manages nearly 20 collections of public-use data for U.S. births, deaths, cancer diagnoses, tuberculosis cases, vaccinations, environmental exposures, and population estimates, among many other topics.
National Center for Health Statistics
Presents statistics and reports on diseases and conditions; injuries; births and deaths; insurance; medical facilities; and more.
Presents statistics on children and families, including: family and social environment, economic circumstances, health care, physical environment and safety, behavior, education and health.
Labor & Wages
Bureau of Labor Statistics
Presents data on labor market activity, working conditions, and price changes in the economy. See also mobile apps (android
Prices & Wages by Decade
This guide points to government publications listing retail prices for common items or "necessities of life" as well as typical wages, salaries, hours and earnings for workers dating back to the 1700s. Government Information resources are pointed to exclusively.
U.S. Congress - Bulk Data Download
Public domain data collectors for the work of Congress, including legislation, amendments, and votes.
Congressional Budget Office
CBO regularly publishes data to accompany some of its key reports, focusing on the U.S. Budget and economic conditions: Budget projections, historical budget data, revenue projections, spending projections, historic data pertinent to GDP.
While the repositories linked on other pages of this guide provide access to data about research data collected in, and about, US phenomena, the sources on this page are primarily governmental and the data descriptive of the US economy, society, or physical environment.