Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The links below are a mix of official statistical agencies and social science data archives. While most of these sources are available to all, a few are subscription databases whose use is limited to current Northwestern University faculty, staff, and students. Data from the World Bank, the United Nations, and the International Monetary Fund (IMF) is available openly to all, but typically provides data aggregated at the national level. Data from the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) is also available at the national level for these, and other, nations. Some OECD data are available to all, others is by subscription.
China Data Resources
China Data Online / Zhongguo Shu Ju Zai Xian
Comprehensive online database focusing on economic statistics of China, arranged by regions and categories. Includes monthly and yearly reports on China's macroeconomic development, statistical databases about China's population and economy at the provincial, county, and city level, and financial indicators of more than 568 industrial branches. Also includes statistical yearbooks, industrial and marketing surveys, and an atlas of China.
China Geo Explorer II
China Geo-Explorer is an intelligence spatial data service that offers China demographic and economic data, maps, charts and reports. Data sources include demographic and business information for all PRC geographies, including 31 Provinces, 345 Prefecture Cities, 2,873 Counties, and over 50,000 Townships.
China Statistical Yearbooks Database / Zhongguo jing ji she hui fa zhan tong ji shu ju ku / 中国经济社会发展统计数据库
All important statistical yearbooks published by Mainland China presses, covering various kinds of census and survey data. There are 1082 titles with 7687 volumes of statistical yearbooks published in China Statistical Yearbooks Database(CSYD), including all the continuously published statistical yearbooks(150 titles or so) in China.There are 1082 titles with 7687 volumes of statistical yearbooks published in China Statistical Yearbooks Database (CSYD), including all the continuously published statistical yearbooks(150 titles or so) in China.Year Coverage: 1949 onward.
Japan Data Resources
Center for Social Research & Data Archive
Search and apply for access
to large data sets about Japanese society including the Japanese Life Course Panel Survey (JLPS) and the Japanese General Social Surveys (JGSS). List of datasets
Several fundamental socio-economic statistical surveys are conducted by the Ministry of Internal Affairs and Communications, including population census and estimates, internal migration, housing, labor force, business census, industry surveys, pricing surveys, etc. Japanese language website
E-Stat: Regional Statistics for Japan
Data for prefectures (4277 basic data and 686 indicators) and municipalities (756 basic data and 39 indicators) provided by the Statistics Bureau, Ministry of Internal Affairs and Communications
FRED Economic Data: Japan
Economic data hosted by the Federal Reserve Bank of St Louis
Japan Statistical Yearbook (2011- )
Text in Japanese and English, tables in excel format. Annual volumes 2011 - 2018.
Tankan: Bank of Japan Statistics
Short-term economic survey of enterprises in Japan which provides an indication of the status of the Japanese economy
Bank of Japan
Data available on currency, financial markets, financial institutions accounts, payment and settlement, balance of payments.