Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Federal Data Search Tools
ProQuest Statistical Insight
ProQuest Statistical Insight provides fast and easy access to statistical information produced by U.S. Federal agencies, States, private organizations, and major intergovernmental organizations. PQSI brings together a massive collection of statistical data in a single easy-to-use search interface, with additional features such as descriptive abstracts, detailed indexing, full-text PDFs of source documents, tables, and downloadable spreadsheets containing table data.
ICPSR Data Archive
All users can search; only NU-affiliated users can download data hosted by this social science data archive which includes data from selected federal agencies including:
- Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ Multiple Chronic Conditions Research Network Data Archive)
- Census Bureau (public use micro-data samples from the censuses of 2000, 1990, 1980, 1970, 1960, 1950, 1940, and some earlier censuses)
- Census Bureau's TIGER (Topologically Integrated Geographic Encoding and Referencing) database.
- National Institute on Aging (National Archive of Computerized Data on Aging)
- Bureau of Justice Statistics (National Archive of Criminal Justice Statistics)
- Office of Planning, Research and Evaluation, Administration for Children and Families (OPRE), U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (Child Care & Early Education Research Connections)
Restricted Federal Agency Data
Several federal agencies provide access by application to restricted data, typically restricted due to the inclusion of personally identifiable information (PII). Learn more about what, where, and how to access restricted data using the resources linked below.
Application Portal for Restricted Data for Federal Statistics. Use to discover and request restricted microdata from federal statistical agencies.
a community and repository for researchers involved in combining datasets, facilitating comparison of different algorithms, and promoting transparency and replicability of research. We invite computer scientists, statisticians, and social, behavioral, economic, and health scientists to deposit code and/or data, and to join the conversation.
Federal Restricted Data Center (FRDC) - Chicago
The Chicago area FRDC provides data access after your application is approved. Northwestern is one of the institutions which partners on these services/resources.
Statistical Agencies & Portals
Bureau of Economic Analysis
Find information on such issues as economic growth, regional economic development, inter-industry relationships, and the nation's position in the world economy.
Bureau of Justice Statistics
Presents data on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government.
Bureau of Labor Statistics
Presents data on labor market activity, working conditions, and price changes in the economy. See also mobile apps (android
Bureau of Transportation Statistics
Presents data on all modes of transportation.
Extensive collection of statistical reports and data about U.S. people and economics.
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
Data and statistics categorized by broad topic. Page also provides links to additional sources of health data.
Presents statistics on children and families, including: family and social environment, economic circumstances, health care, physical environment and safety, behavior, education and health.
Congressional Budget Office
The CBO provides the Congress with analyses to aid in economic and budgetary process. Reports may be searched or browsed by subject.
Allows users to locate, download and utilize datasets generated by Executive Branch agencies.
DataFerrett was a data analysis and extraction tool that was decommissioned in June 2020. See it's replacement now available in Beta release https://data.census.gov/mdat/
Defense Management Data Center
Military and civilian defense personnel and casualty statistics.
Economic Research Service
The Economic Research Service (in the US Dept of Agriculture) produces economic accounts statistics and analysis about agriculture, food, the environment, and rural America.
Official vote counts for federal elections since 1920.
Energy Information Administration
Data products covering energy production, stocks, demand, imports, exports and prices.
Presents data about the U.S. government's foreign assistance funding. Data is viewable by country, sector, or year and can also be queried for user-generated tables.
National Agricultural Statistics Service
Presents statistics covering virtually every aspect of U.S. agriculture.
National Center for Education Statistics
Presents statistics and reports related to education, literacy and libraries.
National Center for Health Statistics
Presents statistics and reports on diseases and conditions; injuries; births and deaths; insurance; medical facilities; and more.
Office of Immigration Statistics
Presents data on immigrants by legal status.
Data and statistics by topic.
Prices & Wages by Decade
This guide points to government publications listing retail prices for common items or "necessities of life" as well as typical wages, salaries, hours and earnings for workers dating back to the 1700s. Government Information resources are pointed to exclusively.
Agricultural Statistics Annual
Offers statistics on agricultural production, supplies, consumption, facilities, costs, and returns.
Annual Energy Review
Includes data on total energy production, consumption, and trade; overviews of petroleum, natural gas, coal, electricity, nuclear energy, renewable energy, as well as financial and environmental indicators.
Budget of the United States Government
Contains the budget message of the President, information about the President's budget proposals for a given fiscal year, and other budgetary publications that have been issued throughout the fiscal year.
Business Statistics of the United States
(Print) A comprehensive collection of data that reflects the nation’s economic performance. It provides annual data in regional, demographic and industrial detail for key indicators such as: gross domestic product; personal income; spending; saving; employment and unemployment; the capital stock
Condition of Education
Presents statistical indicators containing text, figures, and tables describing important developments in the status and trends of education from early childhood learning through graduate-level education.
Digest of Education Statistics
Contains information on a variety of subjects in the field of education statistics, including the number of schools and colleges, teachers, enrollments, and graduates, in addition to educational attainment, finances, federal funds for education, libraries, and international education.
Economic Report of the President
Annual report that overviews the nation's economic progress using text and extensive data appendices.
Handbook of U.S. Labor Statistics
(Print only.) A comprehensive reference providing data on a variety of topics including: employment and unemployment; earnings; prices; productivity; consumer expenditures; employment projections by industry and occupation; occupational safety and health; union membership; international labor comparisons.
Health, United States
An annual report on trends in health statistics. Website archives issues back to 1975.
Monthly Labor Review
Presents research in a wide variety of fields—the labor force, the economy, employment, inflation, productivity, occupational injuries and illnesses, wages, prices, and many more.
National Transportation Statistics
Presents statistics on the U.S. transportation system, including its physical components, safety record, economic performance, the human and natural environment, and national security.
Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics
Database of statistical information. Browse by broad interest (criminal justice characteristics, public opinion, crime victims, arrests & seizures, courts/prosecution/sentencing. and parole/jails/prisons/death penalty) or from an A-Z topic list.
Survey of Current Business
Presents the latest national, international, regional, and industry estimates. Each issue includes numerous tables and charts of various economic estimates.
Presents data and narrative related to Treasury issues, federal financial operations, international statistics, liabilities, and financial commitments of the U.S. government.
Crime Data Explorer (CDE)
Effective 11/6/2020 the the FBI's Crime Data Explorer (CDE) will replace The Uniform Crime Reporting (UCR) data tool.
The CDE is an interactive tool that presents charts and graphs that break down data in a variety of ways.
Uniform Crime Reports
Provides access to FBI statistical publications, including Crime in the United States and Hate Crime Statistics, 1995-present. Replaced 11/6/2020 by the Crime Data Reporter.
Provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.
Yearbook of Immigration Statistics
Provides annual data on foreign nationals who were granted lawful permanent residence, were admitted into the United States on a temporary basis, applied for asylum or refugee status, or were naturalized. The Yearbook also presents data on immigration enforcement actions, including alien apprehensions, removals, and returns.
The commercial products below were not published by the federal government, but have compiled federal data and statistics in a way that provides "one stop shopping" - allowing you to simultaneously search across multiple sources of statistical information.
Datapedia of the United States
(Print only.) Presents the best available data on several hundred indicators of social, economic, political, and cultural developments within the nation. 3rd edition, 1790-2005.
Federal Employee Salary Search
The data contained in the federal employee salary database are compiled from public records released by the Office of Personnel Management and other agencies. FedsDataCenter.com therefore does not guarantee the accuracy or currency of the data. Any questions about specific information should be addressed directly to the agency that has provided the data.
Global Financial Database
Provides some 6500 historical and current financial and economic data series from over 180 countries. Many series reach back with deep data runs to prior centuries. Easy graphing and downloading is available on the system.
Historical Statistics of the United States
Comprehensive survey and tabulation of historical statistics from government agencies and other sources, covering all aspects of US population and economy. View tables or download as Excel files. Also available in print edition
to all users.
ICPSR Data Archive
World's largest archive of social science data. Election data, opinion polls, more. Special collections on Health, Education, Aging, Crime, Substance Abuse. Raw data; no tables.
NU affiliated users can create an account and download data sets and codebooks.
1790- . This site combines data from the U.S. Census of Population and Housing & the American Community Survey (ACS) with a user friendly interface allowing the creation of maps & statistical tables. Census Tract boundaries are available back to 1940.
Guide to Sources of Statistics
Statistical Abstract of the United States, Appendix I
The Statistical Abstract, published annually by the Census Bureau since 1878, has fallen victim to budget cuts; the 2012 edition
is the last freely-available edition. Appendix I provides a listing of sources consulted in compiling the Abstract; these resources may be used independently to find relevant statistics.
NUL will continue to receive print copies of the Statistical Abstract, which is now being published by a commercial vendor. We also subscribe to the continuously-updated database version of the Statistical Abstract.