Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Chicago: Getting the Context
Encyclopedia of Chicago by
Publication Date: 2005
Provides scholarly essays and more than 1300 digitized historical source documents.
Chicago Area Guide
The Chicago Area Guide links to research resources at NU Libraries and in the greater metropolitan area such as newspapers, maps, government information, and additional research libraries & archives.
Chicago Government Information
The Chicago Government Information guide links to key resources for publications, data, and proceedings of Chicago governmental entities.
CQ Researcher Plus Archive
The CQ Researcher is a collection of reports covering political and social issues, with regular reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy.
International Encyclopedia of Social and Behavioral Sciences by
Publication Date: 2015 2nd edition
Fully revised and updated, the second edition of the International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences, first published in 2001, offers a source of social and behavioral sciences reference material that is broader and deeper than any other. Available in both print and online editions, it comprises over 3,900 articles, commissioned by 71 Section Editors, and includes 90,000 bibliographic references as well as comprehensive name and subject indexes. Provides authoritative, foundational, interdisciplinary knowledge across the wide range of behavioral and social sciences fields Discusses history, current trends and future directions Topics are cross-referenced with related topics and each article highlights further reading