Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Useful Sources for Background Information
Human Resource Management in the Public Sector by
Call Number: Main Library Stacks 352.073 D153h
Publication Date: 2010-01-10
This text covers the management of both human resource systems and employees in local government settings. It focuses on the significant changes facing local governments, especially the growing demand for increased Work-Life balance as an integral component of human resource management.
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Industrial and Organizational Psychology by
Publication Date: 2016-11-03
Provides an overview of the cross-disciplinary field of industrial and organizational psychology for students, researchers, and professionals in the areas of psychology, business, management, and human resources. This revision updates current entries and expands the overall coverage, examining key themes and topics from within this dynamic and expanding field of psychology.
Handbook of Human Resources Management by
Publication Date: 2016-05-12
Human resources topics are gaining more and more strategic importance in modern business management. Only those companies that find the right answers to the following questions have a sustainable basis for their future success: - How can we attract and select the right talent for our teams? - How can we develop the skills and behaviors which are key for our business? - How can we engage and retain the talent we need for our future? While most other management disciplines have their standards and procedures, Human Resources still lacks a broadly accepted basis for its work. Both the structured collection of reflected real-life experience and the multi-perspective view support readers in making informed and well-balanced decisions. With this handbook, Springer provides a landmark reference work on today's HR management, based on the combined experience of more than 85 globally selected HR leaders and HR experts. Rather than theoretical discussions about definitions, the handbook focuses on sharing practical experience and lessons learned from the most relevant business perspectives: - cultural / emotional perspective - economic perspective - risk perspective - operational perspective.