Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What is a finding aid?
A finding aid is a guide to an archival collection. It helps researchers identify primary and secondary sources relevant to their research. Each finding aid provides historical or biographical context and explains how the collection is organized and its inclusive contents.
Northwestern University Archives database of finding aids
Archival Collections of Faculty & Staff
The list below features links to the finding aids of personal papers of Northwestern women faculty, staff, and administrators. Personal papers are a collection of documents acquired by or received by an individual that often reflects their life or career. The collections listed below were donated to Northwestern University Archives. This by no means is an exhaustive list. As new collections are available, this list will be updated. Also, please note that some collections or portions of collections are restricted. Review the "Conditions Governing Access" section of the finding aid for more information.
- Alvord, Katharine (18661-1963), theater professor
- Ambrose, Lodilla (1865-1927), librarian
- Boettcher Bogue, Emily (1907-1992), pianist, music professor
- Carter, Gwendolen (1906-1990), political science and Program of African Studies professor
- Cashman, Agnes Jones (1901-1989), physical education, hygiene, and dance professor
- Daniels, Arlene Kaplan (1930- ), sociology professor, research on women and social conditions
- Krause, Alvina (1893-1981), theater professor
- Lane, Dorothy (1910-1994), musician, harpsichordist, music professor
- Lee, Charlotte (1909-1995), theater professor
- Lee, Laura (1914-1987), School of Speech professor
- Lewis, Eleanor (1882-1961), librarian
- Lunt, Cornelia Gray (1843-1934), trustee
- Marcy, Elizabeth (1821-1911), faculty wife, social reformer
- Mason, Claudine (1899-1993), Dean of Women
- Ward, Winifred (1884-1975), theater, children's theater
- Weston, Mary Ann (1940- ), journalist, journalism professor
- Willard, Frances (1839-1898), Dean of Women, social reformer, President of Women's Christian Temperance Union
Here are additional resources for researching Northwestern faculty, staff, and administrators.
- Course Catalogs
- Committee on Women in the Academic Community Newsletter
- Daily Northwestern, (1871-2016)
- Department General Files (typically includes course syllabi, event flyers, lists of faculty names, articles, press releases)
- Faculty Biographical Files (typically includes newspaper clippings, press releases, obituaries)
- Faculty Directories
- Faculty Publications
- Photograph Files
- President Reports
- Statistical Summaries
- President Reports