Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

CLASSICS_101-6: Ancient Greece and Rome in Modern Film and Culture (Platte): Reference Works

Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

Bagnall, Roger S. The Encyclopedia of Ancient History. Malden, MA: Wiley-Blackwell, 2012. MAIN Reference 930.03 E563.  Major work in the field.

Cancik, Hubert, and Helmuth Schneider. New Pauly Online: Encyclopaedia of the Ancient World. Leiden: Brill, 2002- . MAIN Reference 903 N481X or Internet. The premier scholarly encyclopedia on the ancient world.  Can be a little tricky to use for the uninitiated.  Citations in the bibliography often given in abbreviated form; to get full information, click on "New Pauly," and find list of "bibliographic abbreviations."  Or email me and I'll be glad to help.

Finkelberg, Margalit. The Homer Encyclopedia. Chichester, West Sussex [Eng.]: Wiley-Blackwell, 2012.

Gagarin, Michael, and Elaine Fantham. The Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Greece and Rome. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2010.  Internet.  Less detailed than the New Pauly; designed more for the general student.

Grimal, Pierre. The Dictionary of Classical Mythology. Blackwell Reference. New York: Blackwell, 1985. MAIN Reference 292 G861dX.

Hansen, William F. Handbook of Classical Mythology. Santa Barbara, Calif.: ABC-CLIO, 2004. MAIN Reference 292.13 H249h.

Hornblower, Simon, and Antony Spawforth. The Oxford Classical Dictionary. 4th ed.. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2012.   Key work for classical studies.

Kuhn, Annette., and Guy. Westwell. A Dictionary of Film Studies. 1st ed. Oxford Paperback Reference. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2012.

March, Jennifer R. Dictionary of Classical Mythology. Second edition. Oxford [England]: Oxbow Books, 2014.

Pendergast, Tom., and Sara Pendergast. International Dictionary of Films and Filmmakers. 4th ed. Detroit: St. James Press, 2000.  Dated, but nothing much more current.

Oxford Bibliographies Online

Index to Films

Atlases

Talbert, Richard J. A., and Roger S. Bagnall. Barrington Atlas of the Greek and Roman World. Princeton, N.J.: Princeton University Press, 2000. MAIN Government Info (Atlas Case) 912.38 B276.  CD-ROM index available.  The premier atlas of the classical world.

Reference Librarian and Subject Specialist

Profile Photo
Jason Nargis
Contact:
Deering Library Level 3, 1970 Campus Drive, Evanston IL 60208
847.491.2894
Website

Office Hours

I'm regularly available in the Philosophy Department's Brentano Library (Kresge 3520) from 12:00 - 1:00 on Mondays. I'm also always happy to meet in my office in the library by appointment: just click on the link above.