Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Accessing Full Text
Some article databases provide full text while most only provide references to articles.
Look out for the purple "Find it @ NU" button among your database search results.
Individual Journals by Title
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Produced by the American Psychological Association, this database is a comprehensive index to the professional and academic literature in psychology, counseling and related disciplines. Covers 1860-present.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and abstracts to international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
Videos: Developing Keywords and Searching with Keywords
Multidisciplinary Databases (great places to start for many research topics)
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This multidisciplinary database provides access to articles from journals, magazines, and reference sources across all subject areas. Coverage is primarily from 1980 to the present, with some older content.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Abstracts and indexes literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. Coverage includes the fields of descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Finds articles and books in the fields of literature, language, and linguistics in the modern languages, as well as folklore, film studies, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts, and historical aspects of printing and publishing.
Communication Source This link opens in a new window
Includes content pertaining to communication, linguistics, rhetoric and discourse, speech-language pathology, media studies and related fields.