Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

The Black Experience at Northwestern University: Publications & Reports

Student Publications

 

Blackbeat Blackbeat, 1984-2003 (Not complete). Blackbeat is a biweekly newsletter aimed to supplement the quarterly Blackboard magazine, the official publication of For Members Only (FMO). It includes editorials, poetry, cartoons, and announcements to Black students at Northwestern University.

 

BlackboardBlackboard, 1971-2011. Blackboard is the official publication of For Members Only (FMO). It provides Black students at Northwestern University with news and relevant campus editorials. Currently, the publication is digitized up to 2011. However, publications from 2012 to the present are available in print at University Archives.

 

 

Black Student Handbook

Black Student Handbook, 1973-2009 (Not complete)

The Black Student Handbook includes on and off-campus resources for Black students at Northwestern University. It also has a brief history of the Black experience at Northwestern and the leadership structure of For Members Only (FMO). Additionally, it features a calendar of events for the academic year, a list of contact information for Black faculty, administrators, staff, and offices, Black businesses and churches in Evanston.

New Sense New Sense, 1974-1989 (Not complete)

A quarterly literary newsletter.

 

 

Pamoja People

Pamoja People, 1972-1973

Publication of For Members Only (FMO).

 

 

Voices and VisionsVoices and Vision, 2006-2011

Voices and Vision is a quarterly literary magazine to celebrate Black artists, poetry, photography, paintings, and drawings. The digitized collection represents the publication's resurgence from an earlier 1970s magazine called New Sense. 

 

UhuruUhuru1968-1969

First official publication of For Members Only (FMO), a precursor to Blackboard.

 

 

Umoja Circle, 1997Umoja Circle

The newsletter of The Office of African-American Student Affairs. The mission of the publication is to expose undergraduate Black students to African American role models, Northwestern faculty, staff, alumni, and graduate students and support their personal and professional development of futures Black leaders.

Campus Reports

Black Experience ReportThe African American/Black Experience Final Report, Summer 2016, by Black Student Experience Task Force.

"A thorough review of existing Black satisfaction data and reach an understanding of its contributing factors and generate recommended strategies and systems Northwestern can employ to improve the satisfaction of the Black undergraduate student community." The report contextualizes its analysis with the history of the Takeover as it also responds to the fall 2015 demands presented to the University by Northwestern University students.

Black House Renovation Project

Multicultural Student Affairs Program Review 

Black Student Satisfaction Report 

Books About the Black Experience at Northwestern University

The Black Revolution on CampusThe Black Revolution on Campus, by Martha Biondi

Biondi offers a historical overview of the Black freedom struggle as it played out on college campuses. Chapter three focuses on the 1968  Takeover at Northwestern University and the creation of the African American Studies Department.

 

Where I Must Go

Where I Must Go: A Novel, by Angela Jackson 

Chicago poet and Northwestern University alumna, Angela Jackson, tells the story of the fictional midwestern Eden University, loosely based on Northwestern University. The story follows 17-year-old Magdalena 'Maggie' Grace as she leaves her African American Catholic family for the predominantly white school. Maggie experiences being a participant in the Takeover and recalls key figures and events associated with the event. Jackson enrolled at Northwestern University in the fall of 1968.

A History NU Northwestern University: A History, 1850-1975, by Harold F. Williamson and Payson S. Wild

A history of Northwestern University was written in 1975 by Payson Wild, Northwestern Provost, and a key figure in the Takeover, and Harold Williamson, Professor of American and European economic history at Northwestern University. This history of the University briefly discusses the Bursar's Office Takeover and related events.

The Sit-In: Campus Politics, Student Protest, And The Experiences of Black Students At Northwestern University, 1969-1969, by Jenny Thompson

A history of the Bursar's Office Takeover. It features interviews with Eva Jefferson Paterson, James Turner, and Jack Hinz.

 

Voices and Visions: The Evolution of the Black Experience at Northwestern University

Voices and Visions: The Evolution of the Black Experience at Northwestern University, by Jeffrey Sterling and Lauren Lowery

A history of the Black experience at Northwestern University, including interviews with Takeover participants.