Welcome to the Research Guide for the Black Experience at Northwestern University
This guide highlights archival materials, collections, oral histories, and other resources that support the study of the history of Black students, faculty, staff, and alumni at Northwestern. Use this guide to:
- Identify primary sources in the University Archives
- Explore themes like student life, activism, academics, and alumni contributions
- Discover digital content such as photographs, videos, oral histories, digital exhibits, and audio tours
- Connect with Archives staff for help with your research
First time doing archival research?
→ Check out the Beginner’s Guide to Using Archives or reach out to us!
Featured Collections
Documents materials related to the Department of African American Student Affairs, For Members Only (FMO), and other student organizations, programming, and the history of the Black House.
📄 Records of the Bursar’s Office Takeover – Includes the demands, the resolution, photographs, and more.
📷 James Sweet Photographs – Photos from the 1968 Bursar’s Office Takeover.
🎬 The Takeover Documentary, 2018
These oral history projects document the experiences of Black students, faculty, staff, and alumni at Northwestern University:
- The Takeover Documentary Oral History Project, 2017-2018
- The Northwestern Community Ensemble (NCE) Oral History Project, 2020-2021
- The Black (Student) Experiences at Northwestern University Oral History Project, 2021-
- Hearing Silences: 50 Years of Black Women Faculty at Northwestern University, 2024
Through interviews connected to major milestones—such as the 1968 Bursar’s Office Takeover, the founding of the Northwestern Community Ensemble, and the contributions of Black women faculty—researchers gain firsthand insight into the personal stories that have shaped Northwestern’s history.
Records of the Bursar’s Office Takeover, May 1968
James Turner and Dean Jack Hinz meet to negotiate an agreement, May 3, 1968. Photograph by James Sweet.
Records of Northwestern University Black Alumni Association (NUBAA)
Several members of Theta Alpha chapter of Delta Sigma Theta, Inc at the Black House, circa 1998-1999.
Black Experience at Northwestern University Oral History Project.
Oral history interview with Jim Pitts, March 7, 2022.
Visiting the University Archives
The University Archives is located in the Charles Deering McCormick Library of Special Collections & University Archives, on Level 3 of Deering Library (1937 Sheridan Road, Evanston, IL 60208).
🕘 Hours: Monday–Friday, 9:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
❌ Closed weekends and holidays
📅 Appointments are required – please schedule at least 48 hours in advance.
➡️ Make a research appointment
📧 Contact us at specialcollections@northwestern.edu or 847-491-3635
✅ You may bring your own device to scan materials or use our free document scanner to save to a USB drive or email.
Archivist for the Black Experience
University Archives
1970 Campus Drive
Evanston, IL 60208