Skip to Main Content
Faculty & Staff
Alumni & Visitors
Find, Borrow, Request
Catalogs & Search Tools
Explore our catalog, find databasess and journals, or locate books in our stacks.
View and access items set aside by your instructor.
Learn about our lending policies and procedures.
Requests & Interlibrary Loan
Request items from other libraries. Place holds on or request our items.
Scan or copy library materials.
Find subject experts who can guide your research.
Request a research consultation, instruction session or stop by our reference desk.
Scholarly Research Services
Get training and technical solutions for conducting and disseminating research.
Teaching with the Libraries
Support student research with customized course instruction.
Research Tools & Guides
Access databases, e-journals, research guides and more.
Contact a librarian via phone, email or instant message.
Find operating hours and assistance availability.
Events & Exhibits
Attend an exhibit, workshop or other events.
Visitor Privileges & Resources
Learn about guest access to materials and more.
Navigate our Libraries using our maps and book location guide.
Classrooms & Study Spaces
Reserve a study space, carrel, viewing room or classroom.
Technology and Computing
Use computer labs, printers, equipment and more.
Libraries & Collections
Reserve a Study Room
Printers and Printing
Book Location Guide
Libraries and Collections
University (Main) Library
Galter Health Sciences Library
Government & Geographic Information Collection
Herskovits Library of African Studies
McCormick Library of Special Collections
Mitchell Multimedia Center
Oak Grove Library Center
Pritzker Legal Research Center
Find facts, figures and procedures for our Libraries.
News & Announcements
Read about projects and more through our news and blogs.
Join our team as a librarian, staffer or student worker.
Learn about the working groups that make the Libraries run.
Support the Libraries
Donations of books, printed material or financial contributions are appreciated.
Contact the Library
Speak with a staffer, suggest a purchase or provide feedback.
Speech and Language Learning MS and Ph.D. Programs
Search this Guide
Speech and Language Learning MS and Ph.D. Programs: Reference
Guides and Tutorials
Reference sources - dictionaries, encyclopedias
Black's Medical Dictionary
An authoritative dictionary, in its 42nd edition.
Children's Pholology Sourcebook
Aims to provide the resources for speech and language therapists to carry out "auditory input" therapy with clients.
Dictionary of Hearing
Includes acronyms and phrases, as well as individual terms.
Dorland's Illustrated Medical Dictionary
A long-established medical dictionary; an appendix includes images.
The Encyclopedia of Deafness and Hearing Disorders, 2nd ed.
Entries include all facets of deafness and hearing disorders.
Encyclopedia of Medical Devices & Instrumentation
Articles focus on the practice of medicine that is assisted by devices.
The Handbook of Language and Speech Disorders
Examines the current debates, landmark studies, and central themes in the field of communication disorders, including analytical methods and assessment
The Handbook of Pediatric Audiology
Published by Gallaudet University Press, 1996.
International Encyclopedia of Communication
An authoritative, modern reference on all aspects of communication.
Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy
A standard information resouce for healthcare professionals.
The M.I.T. Encyclopedia of Communication Disorders
Four sections, on Voice, Speech, Language, and Hearing. Within each category, entries are organized into three subsections: Basic Science, Disorders, and Clinical Management.
Mosby's Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing, & Health Professions
The eighth edition of this dictionary of health and health care terminology includes more that 2450 full-color illustrations and photographs.
The Senses: a Comprehensive Reference
Volumes on vision, audition, olfaction & taste, pain, and somatosensation.
Librarian for Graduate and Postdoctoral Initiatives
1970 Campus Drive
Evanston, IL 60208
Communication Sciences and Disorders
Apr 19, 2021 8:31 AM
Login to LibApps
Report a problem.
<!- Begin code for NUL Footer -->
<!- End code for NUL Footer -->