Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

PHIL_109-6: Future Tense: The Ethics of What Will Be (Cochran): Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

Dictionaries of Philosophical Terms

Encyclopedias

  • Special subject encyclopedias are useful for getting a firm background on a subject before plunging into the scholarly literature.   Consider these useful alternatives to the ubiquitous Wikipedia:

Batten, Donna. Gale Encyclopedia of American Law. 3rd ed. Detroit, Mich: Gale, 2010. Internet.  Covers today's leading cases, major statutes, legal terms and concepts, notable persons involved with the law, and important documents.

Borchert, Donald M. Encyclopedia of Philosophy. 2nd ed. Detroit: Macmillan Reference USA, 2006. Internet.

Chadwick, Ruth F. Encyclopedia of Applied Ethics. 2nd ed. London: Elsevier/Academic Press, 2012. Internet.

Craig, Edward. Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy. London: Routledge, 1998- . Internet. Continuously updated.

Danesi, and Danesi, Marcel. Encyclopedia of Media and Communication.  Toronto: University of Toronto Press, 2013. Main Library  1 East - Reference Section   302.203 E563.

Have, Henk ten. Encyclopedia of Global Bioethics. Dordrecht: Springer, 2015. Internet.

Holbrook, J. Britt. Ethics, Science, Technology, and Engineering: A Global Resource. Farmington Hills, MI: Gale Cengage, 2015. Internet.

Jennings, Bruce. Bioethics. Farmington Hills, MI: Macmillan, 2014.  Internet.

LaFollette, Hugh. International Encyclopedia of Ethics. Malden, MA: Blackwell, 2013. Internet.

´╗┐Mansell, Robin and Peng Hwa Ang. International Encyclopedia of Digital Communication and Society. Wiley-Blackwell, 2015. Internet.

Nussbaum, Jon F.  Oxford Research Encyclopedias: Communication. Oxford University Press, 2015. Internet.

Sammut, Claude, and Geoffrey I. Webb. Encyclopedia of Machine Learning and Data Mining. Boston, MA: Springer US, 2017. Internet.

Stanford University. Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy. [Stanford, Calif.]: Stanford University, 1997- . Internet.  Continuously updated.

 

  • Note that these encyclopedias are also useful for the bibliographies they contain:

(Partial bibliography from the article "Autonomy" in Ethics, Science, Technology, and Engineering: A Global Resource).

Another Background Source

Reference Librarian and Subject Specialist

Profile Photo
Chris Diaz
Contact:
University Library
2 - East - Digital Scholarship Services
1970 Campus Drive, Evanston, IL 60208
847-467-6693

Office Hours

I'm regularly available in the Philosophy Department's Brentano Library (Kresge 3520) from 12:00 - 1:00 on Mondays. I'm also always happy to meet in my office in the library by appointment: just click on the link above.