Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Databases for Journal Articles and More
The databases listed below are online indexes to literature in the field of education and other related subject disciplines.These provide references to (and in some cases the full text of) journal articles, as well as books, chapters of books, conference papers, book reviews, dissertations and other types of publications.
NUsearch - Articles
NUsearch is the library's tool for finding books, journals, videos, images, and so much more (both physical and electronic) in our collection.
Accessing Full Text
Some article databases provide full text while most only provide references to articles.
Look out for the purple "Find it @ NU" button among your database search results.
Click on the button to see if Northwestern provides full text access to the article via one of our electronic journal packages.
Google Scholar Settings
Use this step-by-step guide to edit your Google settings so that you see the FIND IT @ NU link with search results. Avoid paywalls!!
Key Education Databases
Database sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to education-related literature, including pedagogy, counseling and psychology. Covers 1966-present.
Education Abstracts brings you comprehensive coverage of an international range of English-language periodicals, monographs and yearbooks. Covers 1983-present.
This multidisciplinary database provides access to articles from journals and magazines across all subject areas. Coverage is primarily from 1980 to the present.
Academic Search Complete
This multidisciplinary database provides access to articles from journals, magazines, and reference sources across all subject areas. Coverage is primarily from 1980 to the present, with some older content.
EconLit is a comprehensive index to the literature of economics. This database can be useful for finding articles related to educational economics, including the economic aspects of higher education. Covers the 1880s-present.
Produced by the American Psychological Association, this database is a comprehensive index to the professional and academic literature in psychology, counseling and related disciplines. Covers 1860-present.
Sociological Abstracts provides citations and abstracts to international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Content coverage includes culture and social structure, history and theory of sociology, race and ethnicity, social change and economic development, and more. 1952-Present. Individual publication coverage varies by title.
Web of Science
Multidisciplinary coverage of over 10,000 journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities, as well as published proceedings for over 12,000 conferences per year, and over 50,000 scholarly books.Powerful tools allow you to search and see what articles in the database have cited a particular work, as well as perform other analytics.