Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Alternative Fuels Data Center
The U.S. Department of Energy's Alternative Fuels Data Center provides information on EVs and Hybrid electric vehicles, including data, case studies, information on laws, emissions, safety, and more.
Electric Drive Transportation Association
The trade association promoting battery, hybrid, plug-in hybrid and fuel cell electric drive technologies and infrastructure.
Green Vehicle Guide
From the EPA, information covered includes green vehicles and alternative fuels..
National Renewable Energy Laboratory - Transportation Research
Transportation research on renewable energy technology from NERL. Includes news, publications, and partnership opportunities.
Transportation Air Quality, Selected Facts and Figures
Provides an overview of facts and figures regarding the linkages between transportation and air quality. The focus of the brochure is primarily on transportation-related emissions trends, policies, technologies, and standards that affect on-road mobile sources, including automobiles, light-duty trucks, and heavy-duty trucks.
U.S. Department of Energy - Vehicle Technologies Office
Technology areas include batteries, charging, energy efficient mobility systems, and more.
Sales Data and Markets
Consumer Preference Data
Consumer preference data related to alternative fuel and advanced vehicle technologies assists in the research needed for the development and implementation of these technologies. From the Oak Ridge National Laboratory.
Light Duty Electric Drive Vehicles Monthly Sales Updates
Monthly sales updates on electric cars, published by the Argonne National Laboratory.
Vehicle Technologies Market Report
The Vehicle Technologies Market Report details the major trends in U.S. light-duty vehicle and medium/heavy truck markets. This report is supported by the U.S. Department of Energy's Vehicle Technologies Office, and, in accord with its mission, pays special attention to the progress of high-efficiency and alternative-fuel technologies.
The official U.S. government source for fuel economy information
IEA: Tracking Clean Energy Progress
A report from the International Energy Agency. A section beginning on page 46 focuses on electric vehicles, covering trends, progress, and market share worldwide.
Global EV Outlook
The Global EV Outlook 2021 provides insights on recent EV technology, market, and policy developments. From the International Energy Agency.
Clean Cities Publications
From the U.S. Department of Energy: Find popular Clean Cities-branded publications about alternative fuels and vehicles, infrastructure development, emissions, and idle reduction.
Transportation Energy Data Book
Transportation Energy Data Book by
Call Number: REF HD9540 .O11 2016 and online
Publication Date: 2016
Designed for use as a desk-top reference, the Data Book represents an assembly and display of statistics and information that characterize transportation activity, and presents data on other factors that influence transportation energy use. The purpose of this document is to present relevant statistical data in the form of tables and graphs. The latest edition of the Data Book is available to a larger audience via the Internet (cta.ornl.gov/data).
General Statistics and Data
Bureau of Transportation Statistics
BTS data collections include traffic, passenger flow, employment, financial condition, and on-time performance of commercial aviation; the Commodity Flow Survey; transborder movement of freight by mode of transportation; a census of ferry operations, precursor safety data for transit operations, and data on near misses and equipment failures in offshore operations.
ProQuest Statistical Insight This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Statistical Insight provides fast and easy access to statistical information produced by U.S. Federal agencies, States, private organizations, and major intergovernmental organizations. PQSI brings together a massive collection of statistical data in a single easy-to-use search interface, with additional features such as descriptive abstracts, detailed indexing, full-text PDFs of source documents, tables, and downloadable spreadsheets containing table data.
Statistical Abstract of the United States
The Statistical Abstract of the United States, published since 1878, is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.
A searchable index of over 100 transportation-related data bases across every mode of transportation — with many social and demographic data sets that are commonly used in transportation analysis.