Streetcar 221, route 9 at Chicago Avenue and Ashland Avenue in Chicago, in 1952
Information Sources: Databases to use
The resources on this page will lead you mostly to secondary and reference sources, written by journalists or scholars who are analyzing or interpreting the people, events, or topics they are writing about.
Oxford Reference and CQ Researcher are great reference sources for exploring topics of interest or learning more about a chosen topic.
NUSearch and Academic Search Complete will lead you to books, articles, videos, images, and all kinds of research materials.
For tips on searching in the library databases, please see the Database Search Tips page for a step-by-step explanation of how searching works.
- Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new windowOnline version of many Oxford University Press reference works, ranging from specialized dictionaries and companions to major reference works such as the Encyclopedia of Human Rights, the Oxford Encyclopedia of Food and Drink, the Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States, and the Oxford Encyclopedia of Economic History, among many others.
- CQ Researcher Plus Archive This link opens in a new windowThe CQ Researcher is a collection of reports covering political and social issues, with regular reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy.
- NUsearch This link opens in a new windowNUsearch is the main search tool for Northwestern University Library, combining the library catalog with a wealth of other databases and online collections.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowThis multidisciplinary database provides access to articles from journals, magazines, and reference sources across all subject areas. Coverage is primarily from 1980 to the present, with some older content.
