Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Northwestern University Libraries Repository and Digital Curation
Some images are only available to Northwestern faculty, students and staff. Login with your Northwestern NetID and password to search and browse through both publicly available and NU only content. Collections marked with an asterisk (*) are only available when you sign in with your Northwestern NetID and password.
Databases (NU netID required)
American Civil Liberties Union Papers, 1912-1990
This important collection of papers spans the majority of twentieth-century American social history and politics, focusing on civil rights, civil liberties, race, gender, and issues relating to the U.S. Supreme Court.
Archives of Sexuality & Gender
The Archives of Sexuality and Gender program provides a robust and significant collection of primary sources for the historical study of sex, sexuality, and gender. With material dating back to the sixteenth century, researchers and scholars can examine how sexual norms have changed over time, health and hygiene, the development of sex education, the rise of sexology, changing gender roles, social movements and activism, erotica, and many other interesting topical areas. This growing archival program offers rich research opportunities across a wide span of human history.
Library has access to parts 1 through 5.
Artstor is a digital image library that provides over 1.6 million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences from around the globe and across time periods. Included are images from international museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists' estates. Register for free with the site to access its full range of services.
Black Women Writers
Black Women Writers brings together the many voices of women from Africa and the African Diaspora. Offering fiction, poetry, and essays from three continents and 20 countries, the database gives a view of black women's struggles through time. New content is uploaded on a biweekly basis, giving users immediate access to a steadily growing treasury of extraordinary writings. The database currently features over 16,000 pages of poetry and prose.
Gerritsen Collection: Women's History Online, 1543-1945
Full text of more than 4,700 books and periodicals from continental Europe, the U.S., the United Kingdom, Canada, and New Zealand, dating from 1543-1945, covering the study of international women's history and the feminist movement.
North American Women's Letters and Diaries
Collection includes 150,000 pages of letters and diaries from Colonial times to 1950. The material is drawn from more than 1,000 sources, including journal articles, pamphlets, newsletters, monographs, and conference proceedings, and much of it is in copyright. Represented are all age groups and life stages, a wide range of ethnicities, many geographical regions, the famous, and the not so famous. More than 1,500 biographies enhance the use of the database.
VogueArchive contains theentire runof Vogue magazine (U.S. edition), from1892 to the current issue. All content, including covers, images, fold-outs,and advertisements, is fully searchable and updatedmonthly.
Women's Magazine Archive
This database provides access to the complete archives of the foremost consumer magazines aimed at a female readership, dating from the 19th century through to the 21st.
Women and Social Movements, International 1840 to Present
Online archive of published and manuscript primary sources focusing on womens international activism since the mid-nineteenth century. The archive includes proceedings of womens international conferences, books, pamphlets, articles from newspapers and journals, diary entries, and memoirs. It contains numerous online publications of contemporary Non-Governmental Organizations and also includes photographs and videos of major events and activists in the history of womens international social movements.
Women and Social Movements US 1600-2000
Brings together primary documents, books, images, scholarly essays, book reviews, Web site reviews, and teaching tools, all documenting the multiplicity of womens activism in public life.
Womens Wear Daily Archive
A comprehensive archive of Womens Wear Daily, from the first issue in 1910 to material from within the last twelve months, reproduced in high-resolution images. Every page, article, advertisement and cover has been included, with searchable text and indexing.