Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Encyclopedias and Dictionaries
Dictionary of American Regional English
Focuses on the regional aspects of our language, documenting words, phrases, and pronunciations that vary from one place to another. It includes audio clips and quotations from a Survey conducted 1965-1970, and an interactive map.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Searchable database of several hundred subject encyclopedias and other reference works across all subject areas, but with particular strengths in the social sciences and humanities. It includes a number of major reference works, and is Northwesterns largest single collection of reference materials. A good source for authoritative background information.
Oxford African American Studies Center This link opens in a new window
Edited by Henry Louis Gates, Jr., the Oxford African American Studies Center provides articles from Oxfords key African American studies reference works, primary sources with specially written commentaries, images, maps, charts, tables, and timelines.
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Online version of many Oxford University Press reference works, ranging from specialized dictionaries and companions to major reference works such as the Encyclopedia of Human Rights, the Oxford Encyclopedia of Food and Drink, the Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States, and the Oxford Encyclopedia of Economic History, among many others.
Oxford reference timeline example
Biography in Context This link opens in a new window
Biography in Context delivers nearly a million biographical entries across time and place. In it you will find 600,000+ biographies covering more than 525,000 individuals from a variety of reference sources, with 50,000 new or updated bios added annually. Searchable by occupation, birthplace, death place, and nationality.
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography This link opens in a new window
The Oxford Dictionary of National Biography provides biographies of over 50,000 individuals worldwide who have shaped the history of the British Isles.
Access restricted to 3 simultaneous users at a time.
World Biographical Information System WBIS This link opens in a new window
Over 3.6 million short biographical entries for individuals who lived across the world from ancient times to the present. Includes full text images of the original sources, usually older biographical dictionaries. Especially valuable for locating information on hard-to-find individuals from the past.
Oxford Encyclopedia of Theatre & Performance