It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
America's Historical Newspapers allow you to search and browse American newspapers published across three centuries. It includes thousands of titles from all 50 states and chronicles the evolution of American culture and daily life from 1690 to the recent past.
Based on the renowned American bibliography by Charles Evans and enhanced by Roger Bristols Supplement to Evans American bibliography, this database, which provides full text, is a foundation for research on every aspect of 17th and 18th century American life
Early English Books Online (EEBO) contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700 - from the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War."
Full-text searchable facsimile page displays of approximately 150,000 books published in Britain and its colonies during the 18th century. Most of these titles are also represented in NUcat by individual records.
This database allows users to trace the history of Native Peoples in North America from colonial relations in the 1600s to twentieth-century issues such as civil rights. Includes manuscript collections, rare books and monographs, newspapers, periodicals, census records, legal documents, maps, drawings and sketches, oral histories, and photos, as well as video content from the Bureau of Indian Affairs.
This collection showcases the development of 'popular' medicine in America during the nineteenth century, through an extensive range of material that was aimed at the general public rather than medical professionals. Explore an array of printed sources, including rare books, pamphlets, trade cards, and visually-rich advertising ephemera.
In addition to newspaper collections and books published in the antebellum era, Slavery and Anti-Slavery contains documents from several archives originally available only on microfilm.
Refine your search in a full text database
Many archival databases allow for wildcards and proximity operators (generally found in the database's HELP under Search Tips). These are from GALE (Eighteenth Century Collections Online and the Slavery & Antislavery databases):