Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Sources of U.S. Government Statistics
ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States
The ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political and economic conditions of the United States.
Statistical Abstract of the U.S. (Census Bureau)
Annual publication, available online, with statistical tables on wide array of topics. 1879-2010
Congressional Research Service (CRS) reports
The CRS is a non-partisan agency of the Library of Congress which provides legal and policy analysis to members of congress on a wide array of topics.
U.S. Government Accountability Office
The GAO is the investigative arm of Congress that monitors and reports on the various activities of U.S. government agencies. Many GAO reports (both current and historical) are available online directly from this site. Consult with the staff in Government Info for reports not available online.
Congressional publications on key American public policy issues including foreign affairs, crime, national security, science and technology, transportation, the economy, labor, commerce, public health, the environment, and education. Includes the full text of proposed legislation and its status in the legislative process and the full text of recently signed law. Provides information about current members of Congress and Congressional committees.
ProQuest Statistical Insight
Statistical tables and information produced by U.S. Federal agencies, States, private organizations, and major intergovernmental organizations
Agricultural Statistics Annual
Offers statistics on agricultural production, supplies, consumption, facilities, costs, and returns.
Annual Energy Review
Includes data on total energy production, consumption, and trade; overviews of petroleum, natural gas, coal, electricity, nuclear energy, renewable energy, as well as financial and environmental indicators.
Budget of the United States Government
Contains the budget message of the President, information about the President's budget proposals for a given fiscal year, and other budgetary publications that have been issued throughout the fiscal year.
Business Statistics of the United States
(Print, selected editions.) A comprehensive collection of data that reflects the nation’s economic performance. It provides annual data in regional, demographic and industrial detail for key indicators such as: gross domestic product; personal income; spending; saving; employment and unemployment; the capital stock
Condition of Education
Presents statistical indicators containing text, figures, and tables describing important developments in the status and trends of education from early childhood learning through graduate-level education.
Digest of Education Statistics
Contains information on a variety of subjects in the field of education statistics, including the number of schools and colleges, teachers, enrollments, and graduates, in addition to educational attainment, finances, federal funds for education, libraries, and international education.
Economic Report of the President
Annual report that overviews the nation's economic progress using text and extensive data appendices.
Handbook of U.S. Labor Statistics
(Print only.) A comprehensive reference providing data on a variety of topics including: employment and unemployment; earnings; prices; productivity; consumer expenditures; employment projections by industry and occupation; occupational safety and health; union membership; international labor comparisons.
Health, United States
An annual report on trends in health statistics. Website archives issues back to 1975.
Monthly Labor Review
Presents research in a wide variety of fields—the labor force, the economy, employment, inflation, productivity, occupational injuries and illnesses, wages, prices, and many more.
National Transportation Statistics
Presents statistics on the U.S. transportation system, including its physical components, safety record, economic performance, the human and natural environment, and national security.
Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics
Database of statistical information. Browse by broad interest (criminal justice characteristics, public opinion, crime victims, arrests & seizures, courts/prosecution/sentencing. and parole/jails/prisons/death penalty) or from an A-Z topic list.
Survey of Current Business
Presents the latest national, international, regional, and industry estimates. Each issue includes numerous tables and charts of various economic estimates.
Presents data and narrative related to Treasury issues, federal financial operations, international statistics, liabilities, and financial commitments of the U.S. government.
Uniform Crime Reports
Provides access to FBI statistical publications, including Crime in the United States and Hate Crime Statistics, 1995-present.
Provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.
Yearbook of Immigration Statistics
Provides annual data on foreign nationals who were granted lawful permanent residence, were admitted into the United States on a temporary basis, applied for asylum or refugee status, or were naturalized. The Yearbook also presents data on immigration enforcement actions, including alien apprehensions, removals, and returns.