19th Century UK Periodicals provides access to the enormous range of periodical literature published in Great Britain 1800-1900 of interest to historians and students of nineteenth-century literature and culture, empire, feminism, the history of the book, the creative and performing arts, sport and leisure, science and medicine, and the professions.
Full text database of American periodicals that began publishing between 1740 and 1900, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines, and many more. For those periodicals that continued to publish after 1900, coverage is extended well into the 20th century.
Three part collection. This resource provides online access to 400 British periodicals from the late seventeenth to the early twentieth century. Subject areas covered include literature, philosophy, history, science, the fine arts and the social sciences. All titles are full text searchable and contain high-resolution facsimile page images.
(Collection II) UMI's English Literary Periodicals, which includes 341 titles (totaling 2.2 million pages) published primarily in the 18th and 19th centuries. UMI's British Periodicals in the Creative Arts, which includes 71 titles (totaling 600,000 pages). Thirty-four titles focus on music, 15 on art, nine on drama, seven on archaeology and six on architecture.
(Collection III) extends the scope of the series by focusing on the first half of the twentieth century. The titles are from the prestigious stable of illustrated periodicals known as the Great Eight in British publishing history. They are considered to be among the foremost popular periodicals of the period and were highly influential in their mix of news/politics, miscellany, art, photography, literature and comedy/satire, while launching the careers of many leading artists/illustrators of the age.
Contains primary sources for studying the history of the film and entertainment industries, from the era of vaudeville and silent movies through to 2000. US and UK trade magazines covering film, music, broadcasting and theater are included, together with film fan magazines and music press titles.
Digitized, full-text versions of core scholarly journals across disciplines.While coverage of these journals goes back to the first issue, for most journals the most recent issues will be for 3-5 years ago.
Not all content is available full text to Northwestern community.
Searchable database that provides access to the content of journals and ebooks published from over 200 of the world’s most distinguished university presses and scholarly societies. Covers such fields as literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and others.
The Premium Collection is MUSE's foremost collection of over 700 high quality, peer reviewed, interdisciplinary journals from leading university presses, not-for-profit publishers and prestigious scholarly societies.
Hours
Ask Us
Your Account
Support Us