Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Apartheid South Africa 1948-1980
Apartheid South Africa makes available British government files from the Foreign, Colonial, Dominion and Foreign and Commonwealth Offices spanning the period 1948 to 1980.
Confidential Print. Africa, 1834-1966
The Confidential Print series, issued by the British Government 1820-1970, is a fundamental building block for political, social and economic research. Confidential Print: Africa covers coastal trading in the early 19th century and the Conference of Berlin of 1884 and the subsequent Scramble for Africa. They follow the abuses of the Congo Free State, fights against tropical disease, Italys defeat by the Abyssinians, World War II, apartheid in South Africa and moves towards independence.
eHRAF World Cultures
eHRAF Collection of Ethnography is a collection of full-text primary source materials (mainly published books and articles, and some unpublished manuscripts) on selected cultures or societies representing all major areas of the world. It focuses on pre-industrial cultures and on North American immigrant groups. Searchable and browseable by culture and subject, the files are indexed at the paragraph-level with over 700 subject codes from the Outline of Cultural Materials (OCM)
Empire Online is a collection of documents relating to Empire Studies, including manuscript and printed materials representing both the European and non-European perspective. Materials include, but are not limited to, journals, diaries, periodicals, correspondence, and much more.
Ethnographic Video Online, Vols. I & II: Foundational Films
Online in streaming videos. Contains classic and contemporary documentaries; previously unpublished footage from working anthropologists and ethnographers in the field; and select feature films.
International Documentation Network on the Great Lakes Region of Africa
The Network is an international program aiming at collecting and editing "grey literature" documents about recent events and economic, social and politic prospective for the Great Lakes region of Africa. Countries covered include Burundi, Rwanda and the regional context (Kenya, Ouganda, Tanzania and Democratic Republique of Congo - DRC)
Music Online: Smithsonian Global Sound
Smithsonian Global Sound is a network of international cultural institutions working to preserve and distribute music from archives worldwide, and to foster appreciation for traditional roots music. Through its Web site, Global Sound will offer audio and video downloads, streaming media, educational resources, and detailed liner notes to music lovers, students, historians, teachers, and the academic community.
Vanderbilt Television News Archive
Search the Vanderbilt Television News Archive of network television news programs and other news-related programming recorded since August 5, 1968. Streaming video of NBC and CNN content is available. The Archive makes all the items in its collection available to the public through a loan service. See a librarian for more information.
Women Travelers, Explorers, and Missionaries to Africa
In February 2008 this English-language database contained over 1828 citations from 1763 onward. The database started as a way of inventorying Davis Bullwinkle's unique collection.