Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
African Cartoon Art: Voices and Visions
Databases for Comic Art Research
Academic Search Complete
This multidisciplinary database provides access to articles from journals, magazines, and reference sources across all subject areas. Coverage is primarily from 1980 to the present, with some older content.
Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) and Repertoire de la litterature de l'art (RILA)
Together BHA and RILA index European and American scholarly visual arts material published between 1975 and 2007. BHA indexes articles from over 1,200 journals, but only within a limited subject scope; RILA only covers the years 19751989. Materials indexed are in English and other European languages. Non-Western art is notcovered.
International Bibliography of Art - IBA
The bibliography provides authoritative coverage of international scholarship published since 1945 in European art from late antiquity to the present, American art from the colonial era to the present, global art, visual arts in all media, plus decorative and applied arts, museum studies and conservation, archaeology and classical studies, antiques and architectural history, and related fields.
Digitized, full-text versions of core scholarly journals across disciplines.While coverage of these journals goes back to the first issue, for most journals the most recent issues will be for 3-5 years ago.
MLA International Bibliography
Compiled by the Modern Language Association, the MLA International Bibliography lists articles and books in the fields of literature, language, and linguistics in the modern languages, as well as folklore, film studies, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts, and historical aspects of printing and publishing.
Underground and Independent Comics, Comix, and Graphic Novels
The first ever scholarly, primary source database focusing on adult comic books and graphic novels.Contains selected primary materials (the comics themselves), as well as interviews, commentary, theory, and criticism. Covers 1960's-present.
Bibliographies and Guides
Bonn Online Bibliography for Comics Research
An international bibliographic database for scholarly literature about comics, graphic novels, manga and related fields. Not included so far (with a few exceptions) are articles from fan magazines, newspapers and blogs.
Comics Research Bibliography
An international bibliography of comic books, comic strips, animation, caricature, cartoons, bandes dessinees, and related topics.
Covers book-length works about comic books and comic strips, from "fannish" histories to academic monographs, providing detailed information and guidance on further research.
Research and Media Assistant
You can save yourself time by asking a library specialist for assistance.
- IM or Text us at (847) 868-9059
- E-mail us your question. You will usually get a response by the next business day*
- Call us at (847) 491-7656
- Drop in and ask us your question. Location: Main Library - Level 1 (map)
For large projects consider making an appointment for a Research Consultation.