Several companies that provide research databases to NU Libraries provide their search interface in languages other than English.  For each company listed below you will find instructions for finding the language you prefer.  To find relevant databases from these companies, see the box below labeled Identify Databases by Company, or contact your Subject Librarian.

EBSCO

Translating the Interface Language in the new EBSCO Interfaces

Translating Online Full Text in the New EBSCO Interfaces

OCLC's FirstSearch

See box below that uses graphics to illustrate 

ProQuest 

Creating a My Research account provides access to selecting the language for the interface display.

To create a My Research account, start with the Person Icon in the top right corner of any ProQuest database page.  An example is shown in the red box.

when the Person Icon is clicked, options appear as shown below

To find databases by one or more of these companies see the Identify Databases by Company box below, or contact your Subject Librarian for assistance.  Each company will provide a limited selection of language Not all companies will provide the same languages.

To select the language you wish to use when searching an OCLC database, select one of the languages linked in the blue banner at the bottom of the screen. The image below highlights this banner with a red box.

The image below shows the same screen after selecting FRANCAIS from the available language options.

Identifying Databases From Vendors Offering Interfaces in Multiple Languages

To identify which databases are available through the NU Libraries from the companies listed above, start on the Libraries homepage and use the FIND, BORROW, REQUEST popup menu to select the link DATABASES (shown below in a red box).

Selecting DATABASES will bring up an alphabetical listing.  There are more than 1000 databases available to you.  There are 3 pulldown menus (highlighted in a red box in the image below) which you can use to narrow the list of available databases.  From left to right these are:  ALL SUBJECTS, ALL DATABASE TYPES, and ALL VENDORS / PROVIDERS.

Use the pulldown menu labeled ALL VENDORS / PROVIDERS and start typing one of the specific vendor names listed above.  In the screenshot below, EBSCO was typed.  There are 93 databases from this company.

To narrow your options, use the pulldown menu on the left for ALL SUBJECTS.  In the screenshot below, the option for CHINESE STUDIES databases is selected.  There are a total of 81 databases available for CHINESE STUDIES. 

By combining the VENDOR choice of EBSCO with the SUBJECT choice of CHINESE STUDIES we now have a list of 3 databases.  Use the instructions provided for changing the EBSCO database interface from English to the language of your choice. 

For Additional Assistance

If you need further assistance selecting the best databases for your research contact your subject librarian who will be happy to advise you.

Each of these web browsers provides translation features:

Chrome 

Safari 

Edge 

Firefox Translations plug-in

These may be helpful for databases and other internet resources that do not offer their interface in multiple languages.