test
Choir of the Basilica
St. Denis
c.1135 - 1144
Saint-Denis, France
Databases and Finding Articles
For help with basic research--searching the catalog, using keywords, etc.--consult the Tutorials: Research Basics guide
As with journals, there are several databases applicable to art history. Most will index many different sources of information, and cover a wide range of periods, artist, themes, etc. The easiest way to access a particular database for a given subject is the following:
- From the University Library homepage, go to Find, Borrow, Request > Databases A-Z
- This will take you to an A-Z list of all the databases to which the University subscribes.
- From the All Subjects box, select Art & Architecture. The resulting list can then be searched alphabetically.
Each database includes a brief description, so you don't find yourself searching for Rubens in a database devoted to 20th century conceptual art, for example. Although space precludes a full list of relevant databases, some of the most popular include:
-
International Medieval Bibliography This link opens in a new windowProvides citations to articles, conferences proceedings and essays in medieval history. Covers all aspects of the Middle Ages and includes Europe, the Middle East, and North Africa from 300 CE to 1500 CE. Select "International Medieval Bibliography" from the menu of the Brepols Medieval database collection.
-
Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) and Repertoire de la litterature de l'art (RILA) This link opens in a new windowTogether BHA and RILA index European and American scholarly visual arts material published between 1975 and 2007. BHA indexes articles from over 1,200 journals, but only within a limited subject scope; RILA only covers the years 19751989. Materials indexed are in English and other European languages. Non-Western art is notcovered.
-
International Bibliography of ArtCitations encompass fine arts in all media (from painting and sculpture to video and new media), decorative arts, museum studies and conservation, archaeology, folk art, material culture, classical studies, antiques, and architectural history.
-
Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new windowArt & Architecture Source provides indexing and abstracting for journals, magazines and books covering topics, including art in all media, art history and criticism, architecture, archaeology, museum studies, graphic arts and advertising, product design, interior design, costume and set design, and television, video, & film from all parts of the world and all periods of time. Covers sources from 1914 to the present with selected full text.
-
Arts & Humanities Citation IndexMultidisciplinary database covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities. Indexes world's leading arts and humanities journals with selected, relevant items from major science and social science journals.
-
JSTORProvides page images of back issues of the core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and basic sciences from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication. Users may browse by journal title or discipline, or may search the full-text or citations/abstracts. New issues of existing titles and new titles are added approximately on a weekly basis.