Books
-
Achieving Indigenous Student Success
by
In Achieving Indigenous Student Success, author Pamela Toulouse provides strategies, lessons, and hands-on activities that support both Indigenous and non-Indigenous learners in the secondary classroom. Read chapters on topics such as: Indigenous Pedagogy and Classrooms Considerations Indigenous Self-Esteem and Mental Health Activities Differentiated Instruction and Bloom's Taxonomy Attrition, Retention, Transition, and Graduation Continuum Indigenous Themes and Material Resources Culturally Appropriate Secondary Lesson Plans by Subject (including English, Math, Science, History, Geography, Health, Physical Education, Drama, Music, Visual Arts, Technological Studies, Business Studies, Indigenous Worldviews, Guidance and Career Studies, and Social Studies and the Humanities) This book is for all teachers of grades 9-12 who are looking for ways to infuse Indigenous perspectives into their courses. Ideas include best practices for retention/transition/graduation planning, differentiated instruction, assessment, and equity instruction. Using appropriate themes for curricular connections, the author presents a culturally relevant and holistic approach that helps to build bridges between cultures and fosters self-esteem in all students.
Call Number: ebookISBN: 9781553796565Publication Date: 2016-04-11 -
Education in the Comanche Nation
by
This collection delivers an altogether unique perspective of research on American Indian/Alaska Native education policy and practice by creating a cultural lens, framed as tribal core values, to allow readers to rethink research on and about tribal populations. The policies that affect American Indian education often create a disconnect between an general educational hegemonic mandate of "one size fits all" and the deeply held cultural beliefs of American Indian/Alaska Native peoples. This book provides current thinking about both policies and processes that support native ways of knowing and how tribal incorporation of values support the resiliency that characterizes the United States' first peoples. It considers a range of issues, including the relationship between Native American fathers and daughter, how Habermasian theory applies to Native American education policy and the experiences of Indian college students in predominately white institutions. This book was originally published as a special issue of the International Journal of Qualitative Studies in Education.
Call Number: E97 .E38 2015ISBN: 9781138802490Publication Date: 2014-09-23 -
Handbook of Indigenous Education
by
This book is a state-of-the-art reference work that defines and frames the state of thinking, research and practice in indigenous education. The book provides an authoritative overview of the subject in one text. The work sits within the context of The UN Declaration of the Rights of Indigenous Peoples that states "Indigenous peoples have the right to the dignity and diversity of their cultures, traditions, histories and aspirations which shall be appropriately reflected in education" (Article 14.1). Twenty-five years ago a book of this nature would have been largely written by non-Indigenous researchers about Indigenous people and education. Today Indigenous researchers can write this work about and for themselves and others. The book is comprehensive in its coverage. Authors are drawn from various individual jurisdictions that have significant indigenous populations where the issues include language, culture and identity, and indigenous people's participation in society. It brings together multiple streams of research by 'new' indigenous voices. The book also brings together a wide range of educational topics including early childhood education, educational governance, teacher education, curriculum, pedagogy, educational psychology, etc. The focus of one body of work on Indigenous education is a welcome enhancement to the pursuit of the field of Indigenous educational aspirations and development.
Call Number: ebookISBN: 9789811038983Publication Date: 2019-05-23 -
Indigenizing the Academy
by
Continuing the thought-provoking dialogue launched in the acclaimed anthology Natives and Academics: Researching and Writing about American Indians, leading Native scholars from diverse disciplines and communities offer uncompromising assessments of current scholarship on and by Indigenous peoples and the opportunities awaiting them in the Ivory Tower. The issues covered are vital and extensive, including how activism shapes the careers of Native academics; the response of academe and Native scholars to current issues and needs in Indian Country; and the problems of racism, territoriality, and ethnic fraud in academic hiring. The contributors offer innovative approaches to incorporating Indigenous values and perspectives into the research methodologies and interpretive theories of scholarly disciplines such as psychology, political science, archaeology, and history and suggest ways to educate and train Indigenous students. They provide examples of misunderstanding and sometimes hostility from both non-Natives and Natives that threaten or circumscribe the careers of Native scholars in higher education. They also propose ways to effect meaningful change through building networks of support inside and outside the Native academic community. Designed for classroom use, Indigenizing the Academy features a series of probing questions designed to spark student discussion and essay-writing.
Call Number: 378.19829 I39ISBN: 0803232292Publication Date: 2004-05-01 -
Indigenous and Decolonizing Studies in Education
by
Indigenous and decolonizing perspectives on education have long persisted alongside colonial models of education, yet too often have been subsumed within the fields of multiculturalism, critical race theory, and progressive education. Timely and compelling, Indigenous and Decolonizing Studies in Education features research, theory, and dynamic foundational readings for educators and educational researchers who are looking for possibilities beyond the limits of liberal democratic schooling. Featuring original chapters by authors at the forefront of theorizing, practice, research, and activism, this volume helps define and imagine the exciting interstices between Indigenous and decolonizing studies and education. Each chapter forwards Indigenous principles - such as Land as literacy and water as life - that are grounded in place-specific efforts of creating Indigenous universities and schools, community organizing and social movements, trans and Two Spirit practices, refusals of state policies, and land-based and water-based pedagogies.
Call Number: LC3715 .I458 2019ISBN: 9781138585850Publication Date: 2018-06-18 -
Indigenous Education
by
For Indigenous students and teachers alike, formal teaching and learning occurs in contested places. In Indigenous Education, leading scholars in contemporary Indigenous education from North America, New Zealand, and Hawaii disentangle aspects of colonialism from education to advance alternative philosophies of instruction. From multiple disciplines, contributors explore Indigenous education from theoretical and applied perspectives and invite readers to embrace new, informed ways of schooling. Part of a growing body of research, this is an exciting, powerful volume for Indigenous and non-Indigenous teachers, researchers, policy makers, and scholars, and a must-read for anyone who wants to understand the contested spaces of contemporary education. Foreword by Linda Tuhiwai Smith. Contributors: Jill Bevan-Brown, Frank Deer, Wiremu Doherty, Dwayne Donald, Ngarewa Hawera, Margie Hohepa, Robert Jahnke, Patricia Maringi G. Johnston, Spencer Lilley, Daniel Lipe, Margaret J. Maaka, Angela Nardozi, Katrina-Ann R. Kapāʻanaokalāokeola Nākoa Oliveira, Wally Penetito, Michelle Pidgeon, Leonie Pihama, Jean-Paul Restoule, Mari Ropata-Te Hei, Sandra Styres, Huia Tomlins-Jahnke, Sam L. No'eau Warner, K. Laiana Wong, Dawn Zinga
Call Number: LC1099.515.C85 I53 2019ISBN: 9781772124149Publication Date: 2019-06-03 -
Indigenous Innovations in Higher Education : Local Knowledge and Critical Research
by
This edited volume is the result of a collaborative project of Indigenous graduate education training and higher education-tribal institution partnerships in the southwestern United States. We feature the work of interdisciplinary scholars writing about local peoples, issues, and knowledges that demonstrate rich linkages between universities and Indigenous communities. Collectively, as Indigenous peoples writing, this work takes the opportunity to explore why and how Indigenous peoples are working to reframe dominant limits of our power and to shift educational efforts from the colonial back to an Indigenous center. These efforts reflect a conscientious practice to maintain Indigenous worldviews through diverse yet unified approaches aimed at serving Indigenous peoples and places.
Call Number: ebookISBN: 9789463510141Publication Date: 1st ed. 2017 -
Promising Practices in Indigenous Teacher Education
by
This book provides a comprehensive overview of navigating the on-going systemic challenges, hardships, and problems facing many indigenous teacher education programs today, helping to foster a commitment to developing quality indigenous teacher education programs that are sustainable, distinctive and excellent. However, despite a growing cadre of indigenous peoples working in teacher education, there is still a noticeable gap between the uptake of what is being taught in conventional teacher education programs, and how this translates to what we see student teachers doing in the classroom. The often tricky and complex nature of indigenous teacher education programming also means that there are multiple realities, approaches and pathways that require greater communication, collaboration, and cooperation. The very nature of this complexity, the book suggests, requires a strength-based and future-focused approach built on trust, integrity, courage and respect for indigeneity, as well as an understanding of what it means to be indigenous. The examples and experiences presented identify a number of promising practices that work well in current indigenous teacher education programs and beyond. By promoting a greater appreciation for the inclusion of culturally relevant practices in teacher education, the book aims to breathe new life into the hopes, dreams, and aspirations of indigenous teacher education programs moving forward.
Call Number: ebookISBN: 9789811064005Publication Date: 1st ed. 2018 -
Reclaiming Indigenous Research in Higher Education
by
Indigenous students remain one of the least represented populations in higher education. They continue to account for only one percent of the total post-secondary student population, and this lack of representation is felt in multiple ways beyond enrollment. Less research money is spent studying Indigenous students, and their interests are often left out of projects that otherwise purport to address diversity in higher education. Recently, Native scholars have started to reclaim research through the development of their own research methodologies and paradigms that are based in tribal knowledge systems and values, and that allow inherent Indigenous knowledge and lived experiences to strengthen the research. Reclaiming Indigenous Research in Higher Education highlights the current scholarship emerging from these scholars of higher education. From understanding how Native American students make their way through school, to tracking tribal college and university transfer students, this book allows Native scholars to take center stage, and shines the light squarely on those least represented among us.
Call Number: E97 .R43 2018ISBN: 9780813588704Publication Date: 2018-02-27 -
Transforming Indigenous Higher Education
by
An engaging guide for future best-practice, this book provides an illuminating account of how the innovative programs of education and research at one Centre for Aboriginal Studies made a demonstrably positive difference to the lives of Indigenous students.　 Written by the experts involved, the book provides detailed descriptions of these ground-breaking education and research programs that saw an increase in the number of Indigenous graduates emerging from the Centre for Aboriginal Studies at Curtin University. Each chapter documents a different stage in the development and delivery of these programs and demonstrates how innovative and culturally appropriate principles of teaching, learning and organizational processes empowered participants to make a real difference in the lives of their families and communities. The book also addresses the challenges faced by such programs and the counterproductive pressures of market-based economic policies, highlighting the need to create an environment attuned to Aboriginal desires for social justice, self-management and self-determination.　 As a celebration of genuine success in higher education for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander students, and a guide on how to improve practice in the future, this book is an essential resource for all professionals and policy makers looking to make a real difference to the lives of Indigenous peoples.　
Call Number: ebookISBN: 9781003323372Publication Date: 2023-02-23 -
Unsettling Responsibility in Science Education : Indigenous Science, Deconstruction, and the Multicultural Science Education Debate
by
This open access book engages with the response-ability of science education to Indigenous ways-of-living-with-Nature. Higgins deconstructsthe ways in which the structures of science education—its concepts, categories, policies, and practices—contribute to the exclusion (or problematic inclusion) of Indigenous science while also shaping its ability respond. Herein, he undertakes an unsettling homework to address the ways in which settler colonial logics linger and lurk within sedimented and stratified knowledge-practices, turning the gaze back onto science education. This homework critically inhabits culture, theory, ontology, and history as they relate to the multicultural science education debate, a central curricular location that acts as both a potential entry point and problematic gatekeeping device, in order to (re)open the space of responsiveness towards Indigenous ways-of-knowing-in-being.
Call Number: ebookISBN: 9783030612993Publication Date: 1st ed. 2021 -
Wayi Wah! Indigenous Pedagogies
by
Starred selection for CCBC's Best Books Ideal for Teachers 2023! Now a National Best Seller! How can Indigenous knowledge systems inform our teaching practices and enhance education? How do we create an education system that embodies an anti-racist approach and equity for all learners? This powerful and engaging resource is for non-Indigenous educators who want to learn more, are new to these conversations, or want to deepen their learning. Some educators may come to this work with some trepidation. You may feel that you are not equipped to engage in Indigenous education, reconciliation, or anti-racism work. You may be anxious about perpetuating misconceptions or stereotypes, making mistakes, or giving offence. In these chapters, I invite you to take a walk and have a conversation with a good mind and a good heart. With over two decades in Indigenous education, author Jo Chrona encourages readers to acknowledge and challenge assumptions, reflect on their own experiences, and envision a more equitable education system for all. Each chapter includes reflection questions to help process the ideas in each chapter suggestions for taking action in both personal and professional spheres of influence recommended resources to read, watch, or listen to for further learning personal reflections and anecdotes from the author on her own learning journey voices of non-Indigenous educators who share their learning and model how to move into, and sit, in places of unknowing and discomfort, so we can examine our own biases and engage in this work in a good way Grounded in the First Peoples Principles of Learning, this comprehensive guide builds on Chrona's own experiences in British Columbia's education system to explore how to shape anti-racist and equitable education systems for all. Perfect for reading on your own or with your professional learning community!
Call Number: ebookISBN: 9781774920466Publication Date: 2022-09-06
Journal Articles
-
Culturally Responsive, Sustaining, and Revitalizing Pedagogies: Perspectives from Native American EducationMcCarty, Teresa L., and Bryan McKinley Jones Brayboy. “Culturally Responsive, Sustaining, and Revitalizing Pedagogies: Perspectives from Native American Education.” The Educational Forum (West Lafayette, Ind.), vol. 85, no. 4, 2021, pp. 429–43,
Case Studies
-
Children of the Stars
by
In the 1990s, Ed Galindo, a high school science teacher on the Fort Hall Reservation in Idaho, took a team of Shoshone-Bannock students first to Johnson Space Center in Texas and then to Kennedy Space Center in Florida. These students had submitted a project to a competitive NASA program that was usually intended for college students--and they earned a spot to see NASA astronauts test out their experiment in space. The students designed and built the project themselves: a system to mix phosphate and water in space to create a fertilizer that would aid explorers in growing food on other planets. In Children of the Stars, Galindo relates his experience with this first team and with successive student teams, who continued to participate in NASA programs over the course of a decade. He discusses the challenges of teaching American Indian students, from the practical limits of a rural reservation school to the importance of respecting and incorporating Indigenous knowledge systems. In describing how he had to earn the trust of his students to truly be successful as their teacher, Galindo also touches on the complexities of community belonging and understanding; although Indigenous himself, Galindo is not a member of the Shoshone-Bannock tribes and was still an outsider who had as much to learn as the students. Children of the Stars is the story of students and a teacher, courage and hope. Written in a conversational style, it's an accessible story about students who were supported and educated in culturally relevant ways and so overcame the limitations of an underfunded reservation school to reach great heights.
Call Number: ebookISBN: 9780870712012Publication Date: 2022-05-30 -
Culturally Sustaining Policymaking in Indigenous Communities
by
Discover how top-down, policy-into-practice educational mandates have adversely affected Indigenous communities in the United States' midwestern core. The author scrutinizes how leaders and intermediaries in Nebraska, involved at various tiers of policy development and reform, conceptualized and implemented school accountability policy in Indian country. In particular, Phillips explores state-directed reform efforts in a school on the Santee Sioux Reservation consistently labeled as failing and persistently experiencing intervention from outsiders presented as experts. The book interrogates who gets to define educational quality, who counts as an expert on improving schools, and what improvement actually looks like. Additionally, the text highlights the way local educators and members of the community employed everyday tactics and incognito acts of improvement to reshape school turnaround efforts. Readers will see what is possible for education policy done with--rather than to--Native communities and schools, with lessons that have relevance beyond the midwestern states. Book Features: Offers an education system reform perspective that has an impact in Indian country. Introduces the concept of culturally responsive and sustaining policymaking. Explores how policy reform efforts are implemented across tiers of the educational system, from the legislative floor to a local classroom. Shows how local actors assert agency to remake policy spaces and improve policy implementation.
Call Number: LC3732.M53 P45 2024ISBN: 9780807769560Publication Date: 2024-01-26 -
Redesigning Teaching, Leadership, and Indigenous Education in the 21st Century
by
Research in the area of teaching and learning within education is a dynamic area that continues to evolve because of new technologies, knowledge, models, and methods within formal and non-formal educational settings. It is essential to evaluate the changes that educational systems undergo as they adapt to the increasing use of the technology and the flattening of access to education from an international perspective. Redesigning Teaching, Leadership, and Indigenous Education in the 21st Century is a cutting-edge research publication that provides comprehensive research on the amalgamation of teaching and learning practices at each level of the education system. Highlighting a range of topics such as bibliometrics, indigenous studies, and professional development, this book is ideal for academicians, education professionals, administrators, curriculum developers, classroom designers, professionals, researchers, and students.
Call Number: ebookISBN: 9781799855590Publication Date: 2020-09-18 -
Trickster Chases the Tale of Education
by
Canada's Truth and Reconciliation Commission has sparked new discussions about reforming education to move beyond colonialist representations of history and to better reflect Indigenous worldviews in the classroom. Trickster Chases the Tale of Education considers the work of educators and Mi'kmaw community members, whose collaborative projects address the learning needs of Aboriginal people. Writing in the form of a trickster tale, Sylvia Moore contrasts Western logic and Indigenous wisdom by presenting dialogues between her own self-reflective voice and the voice of Crow, a central trickster character, in order to highlight the convergence of these two worldviews in teaching and learning. Exploring the challenges of incorporating Indigenous ways of knowing, doing, and being into education, this volume weaves together the voices of co-researchers, community members, and traditional Mi'kmaw story characters to creatively bring readers into the realm of Indigenous values. Through a detailed study of a community project to highlight the important connection between the Mi'kmaw and salmon, Moore reveals teachings of respect, reciprocity, and responsibility, and emphasizes the need for repairing and strengthening relationships with people and all other life. These dialogues demonstrate the need for educators to critically examine their assumptions about the world, decolonize their thinking, and embrace Indigenous knowledge as an essential part of curriculum. Using the power of storytelling, dreams, trickster figures and their teachings, humour, and contemplative silences, Trickster Chases the Tale of Education will resonate while providing insights into Indigenous learning and teaching.
Call Number: E96.65.N67 .M66 2017ISBN: 9780773549067Publication Date: 2017-02-14
Legal Education
-
Legal Education Through an Indigenous Lens : Decolonising the Law School
by
This book provides a comprehensive resource for accommodating and pursuing Indigenous perspectives in legal education. The book is divided into three sections. The first section highlights the continuing issues that Indigenous people face in law schools, and universities, including the ongoing impacts of colonization and intergenerational trauma, institutional racism and exclusion, and the denial of historical acts of institutional theft. This section also includes chapters that explore arguments for the recognition of Indigenous legal knowledge, of knowledge about the impact of settler law, and the incorporation of Indigenous concepts, laws and ways of thinking about settler law across the curriculum. The second section explores how Indigenous ways of reading and thinking about settler law make a difference to how settler law is understood and interpreted. Contributors consider the power of storytelling, and of situating Indigenous law as a form of natural law; they also address the prospect of law's decolonization. The third section of the book grapples with how traditional law school subjects can be taught through an Indigenous lens, including torts, public law, property, and criminal law and sentencing. Throughout, the book demonstrates the importance of, and offers practical advice for, teaching law in a way that includes critical Indigenous perspectives. This book will be of enormous value to teachers, researchers and students in law, legal studies, and indigenous studies, as well as others with an interest in decolonizing legal education.
Call Number: ebookISBN: 9781003473404Publication Date: 2025
