For searching and browsing American newspapers published in three centuries, America's Historical Newspapers is the most comprehensive online resource available. Continually expanding, it offers searchable digital facsimiles of thousands of titles from all 50 states. With eyewitness reporting, editorials, letters, advertisements, obituaries and much more, this acclaimed collection uniquely chronicles the evolution of American culture and daily life from 1690 to the recent past.
ACCESS RESTRICTED to Northwestern University faculty, staff, and students of the Evanston and Chicago campuses except for use by a category of staff who have been advised of the unavailability of the resources to them. No interlibrary loan allowed. Visiting scholars are permitted use under the following terms: The definition of an Authorized User under this Agreement can be expanded to include visiting scholars while at the Licensed Site for business purposes with the Licensee, provided that in no case use by visiting scholars is done in a manner or magnitude as to act as a replacement for the visiting scholar's or visiting scholar's institution's own subscription to either the Products or the purchase of other NewsBank products. lf NewsBank reasonably determines that use by visiting scholars hereunder may be impairing NewsBank's ability to make sales of the Product or other NewsBank products to other customers, NewsBank may require such use by visiting scholars to be modified or terminated, either entirely or with respect to the visiting scholar(s) whose activity is impairing NewsBank's business.
This is a searchable collection of 19th and 20th century historical newspapers from Latin America, Africa, and South Asia. This collection can be cross searched with the America's Historical Newspaper collection.
Caribbean Newspapers, Series 1, 1718-1876: From the American Antiquarian Society enables users to search more than 66 newspaper titles from 22 islands published in the 18th and 19th centuries. Created in partnership with the American Antiquarian Society, Caribbean Newspapers is the largest online collection of newspapers published in this region.
Includes the full text of a selection of Russian newspapers, literary publications, and cultural journals. Includes access to publications such as Pravda, Nezavisimaia gazeta, Literaturnaia gazeta, Voprosy literatury, Voprosy filosofii, Voprosy istorii, Isskustvo kino, and Novyi mir, as well as the Current Digest of the Russian Press and East View E-books, a collection of scholarly books across the fields of literature, politics, and other subjects.
This database offers full-page images and article images from the Le monde dating back to 1944. Written in the French language and covering leading issues and events--from World War II and the Fifth Republic, to French, European and international politics, society, and business--'ProQuest historical newspapers. Le monde' reveals the day-to-day news coverage valued by researchers.
Northwestern is a member of the Center for Research Libraries which holds many newspapers, foreign and domestic. The Center is also a great source for foreign dissertations. Any Center content can be requested through Interlibrary loan.