General / Multi-subject Databases
The databases on this page will help you identify scholarly, popular, and news articles, as well as other research, on topics for this class.
Finding the full text of an article 
To find these and other databases to which Northwestern University Library subscribes, you can also go to the library homepage and choose Databases A to Z.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowThis multidisciplinary database provides access to articles from journals, magazines, and reference sources across all subject areas. Coverage is primarily from 1980 to the present, with some older content.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowDigitized, full-text versions of core scholarly journals across disciplines.While coverage of these journals goes back to the first issue, for most journals the most recent issues will be for 3-5 years ago.
MLA International Bibliography
The MLA International Bibliography is a great place to find articles of literary analysis in books and journals. The most effective way to begin your search in the MLA is to search for a paticular author or work. The trick is to identify how the indexers at the MLA describe an author's name or the name of a work. Search the "Names as Subjects" index above the search box in the MLA.
For example, the Brothers Grimm are referred to as (DE "Grimm, Die Brüder").
Google Scholar (Instructions for accessing NU content)
Note the screen shots below to help you set up your Google Scholar to access NU Library full text content.
