Research Guides: ENGLISH 105-0: The Handcrafted and Writing as a Craft (Comerford): Articles and Databases

Quick tips to help with search strategy and discovery of sources

1. Try different related or synonymous keywords, or try a search and then add additional keywords to the search to narrow it further.

DIY, handmade, homemade, etc.

2. If the database has a THESAURUS, try browsing it for related words and for the preferred vocabulary to use in that database or subject area.

3. Use the LIMITERS or FACETS on the left side of your search results screen. They can help uncover most relevant/appropriate sources.

4. Find the full text of the article:

Some article databases provide full text while most only provide references to articles. Look out for the purple "Find it @ NU" button among your database search results.

Multi-subject

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This multidisciplinary database provides access to articles from journals, magazines, and news sources across all subject areas. Coverage is primarily from 1980 to the present, with some older content.

Literary Studies

MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Compiled by the Modern Language Association, the MLA International Bibliography lists articles and books in the fields of literature, language, and linguistics in the modern languages, as well as folklore, film studies, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts, and historical aspects of printing and publishing.

Art

Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new window
Indexing and abstracting for journals, magazines and books covering art in all media, art history and criticism, architecture, archaeology, museum studies, graphic arts and advertising, product design, interior design, costume and set design, and television, video, & film from all parts of the world. 1914 to current.
ARTbibliographies Modern (ABM) This link opens in a new window
Indexing and abstracting for journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews. Coverage is international and includes modern and contemporary art forms, both famous and lesser-known artists, movements, and trends.

Music

Music Periodicals Database (formerly International Index to Music Periodicals) This link opens in a new window
An outstanding resource used to find articles in music journals. It enables you to access articles on a comprehensive variety of musical subjects, styles, and genres. Covers 1874-present.

History

America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
An index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. The database indexes journals from 1964 to the present.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present. The database indexes academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955.

Social Sciences (Sociology and Business)

Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Covers international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Content coverage includes culture and social structure, history and theory of sociology, race and ethnicity, social change and economic development, and more.
ABI/INFORM Global This link opens in a new window
Search worldwide business periodicals for in-depth coverage of business and economic conditions, management techniques, theory, and practice of business, advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, taxation, computers, and more.

Google Scholar (multi-subject)

Google Scholar

Note the screen shots below to help you set up your Google Scholar to access NU Library full text content.