Research Guides: ALC 340 Feminist, Queer, Crip: South Korea and Its Discontents : Getting Started

A Research Process

Research brings together many discrete tasks which, while not strictly linear, can be identified among the categories represented by each page of this guide.

Starting - this page links to resources that can assist with defining a research question. Reviewing background information can help you to articulate what you want to know more about.

Searching - search in subject & news databases to identify articles in scholarly journals and newspapers:

English Databases about Korea - scholarship primarily in English from multiple subject disciplines
Gender & Sexuality Studies
News Sources - primarily in English about Korea

Evaluating - questions to ask about all your sources (this page authored by Josh Honn, English Librarian)

Writing - we all need help sometimes and there are places to get assistance with writing

Citing - research is a conversation conducted over time and space. This page links to assistance and tools for acknowledging your sources, organizing what you find when searching, and formatting bibliographies and footnotes

Background & Overview Sources

Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new window
Offers annotated bibliographies of the most important books and articles on specific topics in a growing range of subject areas. Particularly useful for anyone beginning research. Examples of annotated bibliographies included are:

In NUSearch, search using the following subject headings in addition to keywords about your topic

Gays -- Korea
Gays -- Korea (South)
Homosexuality -- Korea
Homosexuality -- Korea (South)
Lesbians -- Korea
Lesbians -- Korea (South)
People with disabilities
People with disabilities -- Care -- Korea (South)
People with disabilities -- Rehabilitation -- Korea (South)
People with disabilities in mass media
Sexual minorities -- Korea
Sexual minorities -- Korea (South)
Sociology of disability
Sociology of disability -- Korea (South)

The links that follow provide basic introductions to Korean history, economics, and politics.

Encyclopedia of Disability
Call Number: ebook
Publication Date: 2006
More than 500 world-renowned scholars have written over 1,000 entries —in a clear, accessible style—with the desire to bring all students, researchers, and interested readers closer to the daily experience of disability. Volumes 1 - 4 cover disability A to Z, including a reader's guide, comprehensive bibliography, and index. Volume 5 contains a wealth of primary source documents in the field of disability.
Sage Encyclopedia of Trans Studies by editors A. Goldberg and G Beemyn
Call Number: ebook
Publication Date: 2021
More than 300 well-researched articles, takes an interdisciplinary and inter-sectional approach to trans studies. Entries address a wide range of topics, from broad concepts (e.g., the criminal justice system, activism, mental health), to specific subjects (e.g., the trans pride flag, the Informed Consent Model, voice therapy), to key historical figures, events, and organizations (e.g., Lili Elbe, the Stonewall Riots, Black Lives Matter). Entries focus on diverse lives, identities, and contexts, including the experiences of trans people in different racial, religious, and sexual communities in the United States and the variety of ways that gender is expressed in other countries

"Women in Korea." by Jung-Kim, Jennifer IN Encyclopedia of Modern Asia,edited by Karen Christensen and David Levinson, vol. 6, Charles Scribner's Sons, 2002, pp. 139-142. Gale eBooks
Brief overview of women's status during various points in Korean history. North and South Korea are addressed.
"South Korea—Profile." written by Richard C. Kagan in the Encyclopedia of Modern Asia, edited by Karen Christensen and David Levinson, vol. 5, Charles Scribner's Sons, 2002, pp. 270-273. Gale eBooks
This article provides introductory information about the history, geography, economy, and culture of South Korea in only 3 pages. You can find additional overview sources in the Gale EBooks database
CIA World Factbook
The World Factbook, produced for US policymakers and coordinated throughout the US Intelligence Community, marshals facts on every country, dependency, and geographic entity in the world.

Political Handbook of the World This link opens in a new window
The online edition of Political Handbook of the World combines the same comprehensive country and intergovernmental organization profiles from the print edition with a convenient, user-friendly database that organizes the content with a number of browses. Users can quickly access content from the Handbook by navigating a virtual table of contents, performing a keyword search, or browsing for country profiles by: Regime Type Party System Electoral System System of Government Region

Your Librarian

Anne Zald

Email Me

Contact:

Anne Zald
Subjects: Government Information; Regulatory Compliance; Gender & Sexuality Studies;
Main Library Room 1214
Northwestern University Library
1970 Campus Drive
Evanston, IL 60208
anne.zald@northwestern.edu

847-467-6441

Subjects: Chicago Area, Gender and Sexuality Studies, Government Information, International Studies, Regulatory Compliance

LIBRARIES

ALC 340 Feminist, Queer, Crip: South Korea and Its Discontents : Getting Started

Avoid Paywalls: Use Browser PlugIns and Edit Google Scholar Settings

A Research Process

Background & Overview Sources

Your Librarian