Search for Literature Reviews
Article length Literature Reviews can be published in any academic journal. Search strategies for identifying Literature Review articles vary from database to database.
1. In the ADVANCED SEARCH option of the database, is there a DOCUMENT TYPE filter that can be used to limit your search results?
2. Is a THESAURUS provided by the database?
If the Thesaurus identifies 'literature review' as a searchable subject term, combine it with topical keywords or additional thesaurus terms related to your topic.
3. Some databases provide INDEXES rather than a Thesaurus. Select the SUBJECT INDEX and search for the term 'literature review'. Combine with terms that describe your topic.
Journals for Literature Reviews
Search NUSearch for journal titles dedicated to publishing review articles start with the search strategy illustrated below. Titles found with this search strategy are predominantly in science, medicine, and technology fields.
Different Types of Literature Reviews
The definitions provided here were found in Sage Research Methods.
Literature review:
Narrative review is a synonym of Literature review
A literature review is a descriptive and/or analytic summary of the existing material relating to some topic or area of study. The term also refers to the process of producing such a review.
Integrative literature review:
A form of research that that generates new knowledge about the reviewed topic. Relevant literature is reviewed, critiqued, and synthesized in such a way that new frameworks and perspectives on the topic can be generated.
Meta-analysis:
Statistical methods for formally contrasting and combining results from different studies in the hope of identifying patterns or other interesting relationships among study results.
Scoping review:
A review used to determine the scope or coverage of a body of literature on a given topic, and to provide a general overview of that topic. In contrast to a systematic review, which generally starts with a clearly defined question, this approach allows for a more general exploration of the related literature.
Systematic review:
A systematic review is a review of the literature that is conducted in a methodical manner based on a prespecified protocol and with the aim of synthesizing the retrieved information often by means of a meta-analysis.
NOTE: Northwestern University Libraries provides consultations for those conducting a Systematic Review of the literature in their discipline.
Writing a Literature Review
Northwestern University Libraries provides consultations for those conducting a Systematic Review of the literature in their discipline.
- Writing a Literature Review (Purdue OWL)
Concise guidance from Purdue's Online Writing Lab (OWL).
Conducting your literature review by Call Number: EBookPublication Date: 2020This guide to conducting literature reviews includes strategies for defining the research question, using search tools and managing citations, and ensuring an unbiased summary of existing research.
Doing a Literature Review, 2nd edition by Call Number: Core Reference - 2 North H62 .H2566 2018Publication Date: 2018The ultimate guide to the "what," "how," and "why" of literature reviewing.
Doing Your Literature Review: Traditional and Systematic Techniques. by Call Number: Main Library Core Reference - 2 North H62 .J46 2011Publication Date: 2011Guides students through the production of either a traditional or a systematic literature review, clearly explaining the difference between the two types of review, the advantages and disadvantages of both, and gives practical advice on reading and organising relevant literature and critically assessing the reviewed field.
Writing the Literature Review by Call Number: Core Reference - 2 North LB2369 .E289 2019Publication Date: 2018This accessible text provides a roadmap for producing a high-quality literature review.
- Sage Research Methods Core This link opens in a new windowSAGE Research Methods supports research at all levels by providing material to guide users through every step of the research process.
SAGE Research Methods is the ultimate methods library with more than 1000 books, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos by world-leading academics from across the social sciences, including the largest collection of qualitative methods books available online from any scholarly publisher. – Publisher
Sage Campus Course: Conduct a Literature Review
This course guides you through the entire process of preparing a literature review, selecting and analyzing existing literature, and structuring and writing a quality literature review. Most importantly, the course develops skills in using evidence to create and present an engaging and critical argument.
Beginner | 5 hours total for all modules