Tracey Emin
My Bed
Box frame, mattress, linens, pillows and various objects
1998
overall display dimensions variable
Lent by The Duerckheim Collection 2015
On long term loan to Tate
A word about the Browse feature. . .
At the very top of the library's Advanced Search page is one of the catalog's least-known features, the Browse option. Each book in the catalog has several subject terms assigned to it, which help delineate that book's coverage. Using the Browse option lets you search the catalog by those subject terms, using different controlled vocabularies. This allows you, in effect, to search by what a book is actually about, rather than hoping to find that term in a general search result. The advantage is focus: Browse results are books associated specifically with those subject terms, while the same basic search from the library home page will simply return every result with those terms in it, requiring you to weed out extraneous items. You'll still have to consider your Browse results carefully, but it will be much, much easier.
General Resources
These are basic reference texts for art and art history, as well as titles focused on contemporary art. If you are unfamiliar with the discipline or with contemporary art as a specific genre, these can provide basic background information and act as guides to more focused research.
- Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new windowAccess point for the Grove Dictionary of Art and several Oxford reference sources on art and architecture. The Grove Dictionary of Art is the most complete encyclopedia of art available in English, featuring nearly 50,000 articles on a variety of topics including art movements, artists biographies, and countries. Articles are signed, include brief bibliographies, and images. Images are searchable and made available through Oxfords partnerships with museums, galleries and arts organizations.
A great place to start for concise, authoritative information, especially if you're unfamiliar with the discipline or with a specific topic.
Guide to the Literature of Art History by Call Number: Ref 016.7072 G946 2005ISBN: 0838908780Publication Date: 2005An annotated record of the best art and architecture books and journals published since 1980, Guide to the Literature of Art History 2 is the authoritative, must-have resource for all art history students, institutions, and agencies.
Benezit Dictionary of Artists by Call Number: Ref 703 B465XISBN: 2700030702Publication Date: 2006-06-01First English-language edition of the classic work of reference. Incomparable source of art-historical information. Revised and expanded for a wider audience. Over 170,000 entries.
Oxford Dictionary of Art & Artists by Call Number: Online AccessISBN: 0191782769Publication Date: 2015- Pop Art: an Illustrated Dictionary by Call Number: Ref 709.04 P622pXISBN: 0413383709Publication Date: 1977
From Expressionism to Post-Modernism Styles and Movements 20TH Century by
The Grove Dictionary of Art, the award-winning 34-volume set that was launched to critical acclaim in 1996, represents the knowledge of more than 6,800 of the world's leading scholars. It is now the preeminent reference resource for the visual arts. The new GroveART series makes this comprehensive and authoritative art scholarship accessible and affordable to all audiences for the first time. Complete with a multipage color plate section as well as extensive black and white images throughout, each volume in the series will focus on one particularly popular area or period of art history. Broad enough to appeal to the general reader, but thorough enough for the art historian, each book will reflect the depth and excellence of coverage that brought such acclaim to The Grove Dictionary of Art. This century has witnessed an explosion in the number of art movements and schools that have emerged and contemporary artists breaking traditional boundaries. In more than 350 essays, the most popular movements -- Surrealism, Expressionism, and Pop Art -- are discussed alongside recent experiments in new media like video art and environmental art.
Call Number: Ref 709.04003 G883ISBN: 0312229763Publication Date: 2000
Contemporary Artists by
The most exhaustive work in the field, the completely revised 5th edition of "Contemporary Artists provides detailed personal and professional information on 850 artists--both established masters and emerging figures on the international scene. Illustrated with approximately 600 black-and-white photographs of the artists and their works.
Call Number: Ref 709.22 C761 2002ISBN: 1558624074Publication Date: 2001
Contemporary Women Artists by
This volume provides thorough biographical, bibliographical and critical information on 350 of the world's most prominent and influential 20th century women artists, including important new artists.
Call Number: Ref 709.22 C7616ISBN: 1558623728Publication Date: 1999
