Subject Databases
Gender & Sexuality Studies
- Gender Studies Database This link opens in a new windowGender Studies Database combines the Women's Studies International and Men's Studies databases with the coverage of sexual diversity issues. GSD covers the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship.
- GenderWatch This link opens in a new windowA full text database of unique and diverse publications that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas.
- Alternative Press Index This link opens in a new windowAlternative Press Index is a biannual subject index to over 300 alternative, left, and radical journals, newspapers, and magazines. The index is international and interdisciplinary, spanning the social sciences and humanities, with its central focus on the practice and theory of socialism, national liberation, labor, indigenous peoples, gays/lesbians, feminism, ecology, democracy, and anarchism.
- Alternative Press Index Archive This link opens in a new windowCovers the period 1969 through to 1990. This bibliographic database contains journal, newspaper, and magazine articles from over 700 international alternative, radical, and left periodicals. Covering theories and practices of socialism and revolution alongside ecology, democracy and anarchism, feminism and organized labor, indigenous peoples and gays/lesbians, the coverage is both international and interdisciplinary.
Health Sciences
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowPubMed was developed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI). It was developed in conjunction with publishers of biomedical literature as a search tool for accessing literature citations and linking to full-text journals at web sites of participating publishers.
- Global Health This link opens in a new windowOne simultaneous user, click on " End Session" then close your browser to log out. Global Health is a public health database that provides information on international health, biomedical life sciences, non-communicable diseases, public health nutrition, food safety and hygiene, and much more. This database contains more than 1.2 million records dating back to 1973.
- CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new windowCINAHL is the authoritative resource for nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers It provides indexing for over 1,200 nursing journals and publications dating back to 1982.
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new windowThis resource provides more than 580 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines with partiuclar strength in nursing and allied health.
African American Studies
- Black Studies Periodicals This link opens in a new windowCitations from over 150 scholarly and popular journals of Black Studies, including 40 with full text articles.
- African American Periodicals, 1825-1995 This link opens in a new windowFeatures more than 170 wide-ranging periodicals by and about African Americans andcan be cross-searched with African American Newspapers, Afro-Americana Imprints and other Archive of Americana collections. Publications include academic and political journals, commercial magazines, institutional newsletters, organizations bulletins, annual reports and other genres.
- African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 This link opens in a new windowAfrican American Newspapers, 1827-1998, provides online access to approximately 270 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience. This unique collection, which includes papers from more than 35 states, features many rare and historically significant 19th-century titles.
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new windowEthnic NewsWatch indexes newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic and minority press, offering both national and regional coverage. Ethnic NewsWatch presents multi-ethnic and multi-cultural publications in one resource covering 1959-present. Individual publication coverage varies by title.
Additional Resources
For additional resources in each of these disciplines, take a look at the appropriate research guide linked below, created by the NULibraries subject specialist for that area.
-
*African American Studies
by Kathleen Bethel Last Updated Apr 4, 2024 580 views this year
- *Health and Allied Fields
- News Sources
Videos About Searching
Finding Article Full Text
Not all databases include full text of articles you can identify by searching. If there is not a link to PDF, click on the purple button "Find It @ NU" which looks like this: 
Step 1 Click the FindIt@NU button
Step 2 Review the source citation and compare it's publication date to the available dates for that publication from any providers listed
Step 3 Click provider that includes date you need to view article with link to full text in PDF format
