Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Browsing the Collection
NUsearch This link opens in a new window
Northwestern Library's discovery search tool for the vast collection of our books, journals, journal and newspaper articles, videos, sound recordings, digital images and more.
WorldCat This link opens in a new window
The world's most comprehensive catalog of library holdings, particularly (though not exclusively) from North American libraries, containing over 2,000,000,000 records from over 10,000 libraries.
Reference Books at NUL
An Atlas and Survey of Latin American History by
Call Number: Oak Grove 911.8 L331a
Publication Date: 2006-10-15
An Atlas and Survey of Latin American History makes the geography, the demography, and the political, social, and economic history of the region easily accessible. Each entry and map is accompanied by a brief, carefully selected bibliography.
A Companion to Latin American Literature by
Call Number: Main Stacks 868.909 H325co
Publication Date: 2007-09-20
A Companion to Latin American Literature offers a introduction to the most significant literary works produced in Latin America from the fifteenth century until the present day. The evolution of Latin American literature is traced chronologically in six chapters which introduce the main writers in the main genres of poetry, prose, the novel, drama, and the essay. A final chapter evaluates the post-boom novel, testimonio, Latino and Brazuca literature, gay, Afro-Hispanic and Afro-Brazilian literature, along with the Novel of the New Millennium.
The Companion to Latin American Studies by
Call Number: Main Stacks 980 S972c
Publication Date: 2003-03-27
This guide gives a brief and accessible overview of the whole of Latin American Studies. Covering all the possible topics, from colonial cultures and identity to US Latino culture and issues of race, gender and sexuality, this book situates Latin America in its historical, linguistic and cultural context. Written by an international team of experts, the Companion includes time-lines, a glossary of terms and annotated suggestions for further reading.
Encyclopedia of Contemporary Latin American and Caribbean Cultures by
Call Number: Main Reference 972.9003 E56
Publication Date: 2001-01-16
This three-volume Encyclopedia offers more than 4000 entries on all aspects of the cultures of Latin America and the Caribbean. It covers 40 regions from 1920-2000, and includes food, sport, religion, television, transport, alongside architecture, dance, film, literature, music and sculpture. All entries include bibliographic references.
Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2008-05-09
The original 1995 encyclopedia was an award winner from both the American Library Association and the American Historical Association. This edition adds nearly 600 entirely new topics, replaces some 150 obsolete entries, and also provides substantial revisions to hundreds more. Every one of the 5,700+ entries has been reviewed for currency of content and bibliography. Includes hundreds of photographs, national statistics, and current events.
Handbook of Social Movements Across Latin America by
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2015-07-14
This handbook covers social movement activities in Latin American countries that have had profound consequences on the political culture of the region. The contributors each address social movement activity in their own nation and together they present a multidisciplinary perspective on the topic, using a case studies. This Handbook is divided into seven substantive themes: 1) theory of Latin American social movements; 2) neoliberalism; 3) indigenous struggles; 4) women's movements; 5) movements and the State; 6) environmental movements; and 7) transnational mobilizations.
The Oxford Handbook of Latin American History by
Call Number: Main Stacks 980 O98
Publication Date: 2010-11-05
The seventeen original essays in The Oxford Handbook of Latin American History survey the recent historiography of the colonial era, independence movements, and postcolonial periods and span Mexico, Spanish South America, and Brazil.
Routledge Handbook of Latin American Politics by
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2012-03-08
The Routledge Handbook of Latin American Politics offers an intellectually rigorous overview of the state of the field and a thoughtful guide to the direction of future scholarship. Kingstone and Yashar bring together the leading figures in the study of Latin America to present extensive empirical coverage, new original research, and an examination of the central areas of inquiry in the region.
Encyclopedia of Postcolonial Studies by
Call Number: Available online
Publication Date: 2016-02-16
The Encyclopedia of Postcolonial Studies brings together the most wide-ranging and up-to-date scholarship ever assembled on the colonial, postcolonial and neo-colonial condition, covering the period from 1492 to the present.
Online Reference Tools for Latin American Studies
HAPI Online: Hispanic American Periodicals Index
Citation index to articles, documents, original literary works, and other materials appearing in more than 500 social science and humanities journals. Coverage includes Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States, 1970-present. Many of the citations are linked to full text.
Oxford Bibliographies: Latin America
Developed cooperatively with scholars worldwide, Oxford Bibliographies in Latin American Studies offers exclusive, authoritative research guides. Combining the best features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia, this cutting-edge resource guides researchers to the best available scholarship across the field of Latin American Studies.
Oxford Research Encyclopedias. Latin American History
NEW: Substantive, peer-reviewed, and regularly updated, the Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Latin American History combines the speed and flexibility of digital with the rigorous standards of academic publishing.
HLAS: Handbook of Latin American Studies This link opens in a new window
The Handbook is a bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars. Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, the multidisciplinary Handbook alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities. Each year, more than 130 academics from around the world choose over 5,000 works for inclusion in the Handbook. Continuously published since 1936, the Handbook offers Latin Americanists an essential guide to available resources.
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Online version of many Oxford University Press reference works, ranging from specialized dictionaries and companions to major reference works such as the Encyclopedia of Human Rights, the Oxford Encyclopedia of Food and Drink, the Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States, and the Oxford Encyclopedia of Economic History, among many others.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Searchable database of several hundred subject encyclopedias and other reference works across all subject areas, but with particular strengths in the social sciences and humanities. It includes a number of major reference works, and is Northwesterns largest single collection of reference materials. A good source for authoritative background information.
CLACSO Librería Latinoamericana y Caribeña de Ciencias Sociales
Open access books published by the Latin American Council of Social Sciences. Over 1000 available for free download.
Open Access Academic Books from Latin America
Open access books published by Biblioteca Ayacucho (Venezuela), Biblioteca FLACSO Andes, CEPAL, Ciberoteca, Biblioteca Alvaro Gómez Hurtado - Universidad Sergio Arboleda (Colombia), Biblioteca Virtual Universal (Argentina), E-revistas: Plataforma Open Access de Revistas Científicas Electrónicas Españolas y Latinoamericanas. CSIC (España), CODESRIA (Council for the Development of Social Science Research in Africa), Fundação Biblioteca Nacional (Brasil), Biblioteca Virtual sobre Sistematización de Experiencias - CEAAL (Costa Rica)
Free access to over 200 classical books from Latin America.
Biography in Context This link opens in a new window
Biography in Context delivers nearly a million biographical entries across time and place. In it you will find 600,000+ biographies covering more than 525,000 individuals from a variety of reference sources, with 50,000 new or updated bios added annually. Searchable by occupation, birthplace, death place, and nationality.
World Biographical Information System WBIS This link opens in a new window
Over 3.6 million short biographical entries for individuals who lived across the world from ancient times to the present. Includes full text images of the original sources, usually older biographical dictionaries. Especially valuable for locating information on hard-to-find individuals from the past.
Current Biography Illustrated This link opens in a new window
Current Biography Illustrated contains profiles of individuals living at the time of publication, often at the height of, or even the beginning of, their fame or notoriety. Occasionally a revised biography will be published, and a brief obituary, but published biographies are never revised in light of later events, so a useful source for seeing how individuals were perceived at the time they were active. Illustrations for most individuals are included.
Books not at NUL
University of Chicago
University of Chicago has a wonderful collection for Latin American Studies. Most of its collections are available through interlibrary loan, but as a Northwestern student or faculty member, you also can get borrowing privileges from the library itself.
Newberry Library Latin American History Collection
The Newberry has an abundance of primary source material documenting discovery, exploration, and settlement of the British, French, Spanish and Portuguese colonies in Latin America. It also has strong collections of Mayan and Mexican archaeological and linguistics materials. Special strengths include sixteenth- to eighteenth-century colonial and Jesuit history of Mexico, Peru, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, and Venezuela. Visit here
for more information.
Center for Research Libraries Latin American Studies
CRL holds books, newspapers, archives, and other specialized resources from Latin America in its Hyde Park facility. Scholars and researchers from Northwestern may request CRL collections, at no charge, through interlibrary loan.
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign Latin American and Caribbean Studies Library
The UIUC collection for Latin American and Caribbean Studies ranks among the top five collections nationwide and is the largest in the Midwest. The University Library allows access to its facilities to visitors to the campus and members of the general public, and the majority of its materials circulate via interlibrary loan.
Catálogo Colectivo de Impresos Latinoamericanos
The Catálogo Colectivo de Impresos Latinoamericanos hasta 1851 (CCILA) is an ongoing effort to catalog the printed heritage of Latin America and the Philippines before 1851. As a bibliography, it provides a census of surviving works. As a union catalog, CCILA will list institutional holdings for those works and will endeavor to identify microfilm and digital surrogates. It is a large-scale cooperative effort, designed to involve every library in Europe, the Americas, or the Philippines possessing relevant materials. Sponsored by University of California Riverside.
This large-scale digital repository includes books, government publications, and other documents from all over the world, including Spain and Latin America. Full-text view is available for items out of copyright (government publications and post-1922 texts).