It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Includes the major prose fiction of the Romantic and Victorian periods as well as many neglected or little-known works. Each text is reproduced in full, including all prefatory matter and annotations by the original author.
Three part collection. This resource provides online access to 400 British periodicals from the late seventeenth to the early twentieth century. Subject areas covered include literature, philosophy, history, science, the fine arts and the social sciences. All titles are full text searchable and contain high-resolution facsimile page images.
(Collection II) UMI's English Literary Periodicals, which includes 341 titles (totaling 2.2 million pages) published primarily in the 18th and 19th centuries. UMI's British Periodicals in the Creative Arts, which includes 71 titles (totaling 600,000 pages). Thirty-four titles focus on music, 15 on art, nine on drama, seven on archaeology and six on architecture.
(Collection III) extends the scope of the series by focusing on the first half of the twentieth century. The titles are from the prestigious stable of illustrated periodicals known as the Great Eight in British publishing history. They are considered to be among the foremost popular periodicals of the period and were highly influential in their mix of news/politics, miscellany, art, photography, literature and comedy/satire, while launching the careers of many leading artists/illustrators of the age.