Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Accessing Full Text
Some article databases provide full text while most only provide references to articles.
Look out for the purple "Find it @ NU" button among your database search results.
Click on the button to see if Northwestern provides full text access to the article via one of our electronic journal packages.
Journal Article Databases
Search worldwide business periodicals for in-depth coverage of business and economic conditions, management techniques, theory, and practice of business, advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, taxation, computers, and more.
This multidisciplinary database provides access to articles from journals and magazines across all subject areas. Coverage is primarily from 1980 to the present.
Academic Search Complete
This multidisciplinary database provides access to articles from journals, magazines, and reference sources across all subject areas. Coverage is primarily from 1980 to the present, with some older content.
Business Source Premier
Provides indexing and full text of scholarly business journals. Also contains country economic reports, industry reports, and detailed profiles of the world's 10,000 largest companies. Covers 1886-present.
Catalog of Nonprofit Literature
Maintained by the Foundation Center, this is a searchable database of the literature of philanthropy. The Catalog contains citations to materials collected by the Center's five libraries as well as selected literature from other sources. The Catalog was formerly known as Literature of the Nonprofit Sector
. Be sure to check NUsearch to see if NUL holds a copy of any items you find here.
CQ Researcher Plus Archive
The CQ Researcher is a collection of reports covering political and social issues, with regular reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy.
EconLit, the American Economic Association's electronic database, is a comprehensive index to the literature of economics. This database provides citations to journal articles, books, chapters in edited volumes, working papers, dissertations, and book reviews, with selected abstracts and some full-text content. Covers the 1880s-present.
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS)
Provides bibliographic information from an international selection of publications in the fields of economics, political science, sociology, and anthropology. Covers 1951-present.
Provides electronic access to back issues of core scholarly journals in the humanities, social science, and science. While coverage of these journals goes back to the first issue, for most journals the most recent issues will be for 3-5 years ago.
Provides citations to articles, books, reports, and select government documents on U.S. and international public policy issues. PAIS is generally considered to be a comprehensive index to policy literature. Covers 1915-present.
Sociological Abstracts provides citations and abstracts to international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Content coverage includes culture and social structure, history and theory of sociology, race and ethnicity, social change and economic development, and more. 1952-Present. Individual publication coverage varies by title.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Index to the literature in political science, including journal articles, books and book chapters, dissertations, and reviews. Covers 1975-present.
NUsearch - Articles
NUsearch is the library's tool for finding books, journals, videos, images, and so much more (both physical and electronic) in our collection.
Google Scholar brings together a tremendous amount of scholarly literature on a wide range of subjects. This can be a good alternative to more traditional databases.
Google Scholar Settings
Use this step-by-step guide to edit your Google settings so that you see the FIND IT @ NU link with search results. Avoid paywalls!!