Using NUsearch
The library's catalog is NUSearch and is your best tool to find what books, journals and other resources the library holds.
From the main page you can search by keyword, title, journal title, author (lastname, firstname), or even subject headings or call numbers.
For more complex keyword searching, be sure to use the Guided Search module.
Books from Chicago Campus
Some books you need may be held at the Galter Library, Pritzker Legal Research Center or Schaffner Library.
You can now request items from Chicago campus libraries be sent up to an Evanston campus library directly through NUcat!
To place your request from the item record in NUSearch, simply click on the “Request” button, located in the dark blue toolbar near the top of the page. Log in to your account and follow the instructions.
Items that are non-circulating, on Reserve, located in Qatar, or belonging to any hospital collection can NOT be sent to other locations (this includes items currently in process).
Can't Find It @ NUL?
UBorrow allows you to search for and request an item in real time from nearby CIC institutions with a guaranteed 12-week loan if NUL does not own it or it is currently checked out.
For other materials that are not available via Northwestern, be sure to search WorldCat. You can submit an interlibrary loan request to have a copy of the item sent here.
Feel free to suggest a purchase, too!
Searching Strategy
Probably the best way to approach searching for books in NUcat is to start with a keyword search.
- Use the Guided Search feature to enter your search terms.
- Scan through the results.
- When you find an item that is relevant to your topic, explore the details of the title, including the author, table of contents and publisher.
- Pay special attention to the subject headings. Clicking on these will call up a list of other books that deal with similar topics.
Handbooks
Handbooks in psychology are quick sources of facts and can supplement encyclopedia articles by providing detailed summaries of broad topics in the field.
You can find many useful handbooks via NUcat by doing a keyword search limited to the title for the term handbook and the name of the disorder or treatment technique you are interested in.
Here are ome examples of handbooks:
Comprehensive Handbook of Psychotherapy by Call Number: MAIN Reference 616.8914 C738New York : Wiley, 2002.
Handbook of Clinical Psychology by Call Number: MAIN Reference 616.89 H23638Hoboken, N.J. : J. Wiley & Sons, 2008.
Handbook of Comparative Interventions for Adult Disorders by Call Number: Galter Health Sciences Library: Level 2 WM 420 H2311 1999New York : Wiley, 1999.
Handbook of Evidence-based Psychodynamic Psychotherapy : Bridging the Gap Between Science and Practice by Call Number: Galter Health Sciences Library: Level 2 WM 420 H235 2009New York : Humana, 2009.
Available online, click link above to access.
Handbook of Innovative Therapy by Call Number: MAIN Reference 616.8914 H2365 2001New York : Wiley, 2001.
Treating Chronic and Severe Mental Disorders : A Handbook of Empirically Supported Interventions by Call Number: Galter Health Sciences Library: Level 2 WM 420 T7828 2002New York : Guilford Press, 2002.
