It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
For a guide to both historical and recent sources, visit the libraries' News Guide. Below are some specific titles pertinent to 19th century Western European Studies. For other news sources for Western Europe, visit the Western European History Guide.
Continental Western Europe
The Center for Research Libraries has an extensive collection of historic newspapers from Western Europe, in various formats. These can be obtained via interlibrary loan.
Slavery and Anti-Slavery includes documents from the United States and Europe, as well as other parts of the world. In addition to newspaper collections and books published in the antebellum era, Slavery and Anti-Slavery contains documents from several archives originally available only on microfilm. – Publisher.
Searchable collection of historical newspapers from around the world. Forthcoming are European, Middle Eastern, and Southeast Asian newspapers. The collection currently contains 19th and 20th century: African Newspapers Latin American Newspapers South Asian Newspapers Can be cross-searched with collection: America’s Historical Newspapers.
Historical Austrian newspapers and magazines. View as plain text or the original page images. Some go back to the 16th century; most recent coverage is 1943. In German. Search capability is limited but expanding
The Guardian (1821-2003) and The Observer (1791-2003) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
Three part collection. This resource provides online access to 400 British periodicals from the late seventeenth to the early twentieth century. Subject areas covered include literature, philosophy, history, science, the fine arts and the social sciences. All titles are full text searchable and contain high-resolution facsimile page images.
(Collection II) UMI's English Literary Periodicals, which includes 341 titles (totaling 2.2 million pages) published primarily in the 18th and 19th centuries. UMI's British Periodicals in the Creative Arts, which includes 71 titles (totaling 600,000 pages). Thirty-four titles focus on music, 15 on art, nine on drama, seven on archaeology and six on architecture.
(Collection III) extends the scope of the series by focusing on the first half of the twentieth century. The titles are from the prestigious stable of illustrated periodicals known as the Great Eight in British publishing history. They are considered to be among the foremost popular periodicals of the period and were highly influential in their mix of news/politics, miscellany, art, photography, literature and comedy/satire, while launching the careers of many leading artists/illustrators of the age.
Caribbean Newspapers, Series 1, 1718-1876: From the American Antiquarian Society enables users to search more than 66 newspaper titles from 22 islands published in the 18th and 19th centuries. Created in partnership with the American Antiquarian Society, Caribbean Newspapers is the largest online collection of newspapers published in this region.
The Economist Historical Archive provides access to the full text of The Economist, the weekly British paper essential to knowledge in politics, current affairs and business and trade worldwide. The archive covers 1843+, but most recent 6 years not available.
19th Century UK Periodicals provides access to the enormous range of periodical literature published in Great Britain 1800-1900 of interest to historians and students of nineteenth-century literature and culture, empire, feminism, the history of the book, the creative and performing arts, sport and leisure, science and medicine, and the professions.
The Daily Telegraph was launched in 1855, and within 10 years was able to claim it had "the largest circulation in the world." For more than 150 years it has shaped and recorded the history and democratic values of the United Kingdom. The Telegraph Historical Archive, 1855-2000 provides users with access to both the daily and Sunday editions.