Statistical Software Guides and Tutorials
-
O'Reilly Books Online This link opens in a new windowBooks (and some video tutorials) that guide you through the process of learning data analysis tools. Register with your Northwestern or Garrett email address for access.
-
Sage Research Methods Core This link opens in a new windowA collection of e-books and other resources covering research methods in the social and behavioral sciences. It contains the popular Little Green Book series as well as other titles on quantitative analysis
-
NUIT Research Data Services: Training and LearningNUIT offers data analysis training through workshops and online learning.
-
LinkedIn LearningNorthwestern provides faculty, staff, and students with access to this suite of online courses.
eBooks
-
How to Use SPSS
by
How to Use SPSS® is designed with the novice computer user in mind and for people who have no previous experience using SPSS. Each chapter is divided into short sections that describe the statistic being used, important underlying assumptions, and how to interpret the results and express them in a research report. The book begins with the basics, such as starting SPSS, defining variables, and entering and saving data. It covers all major statistical techniques typically taught in beginning statistics classes, such a descriptive statistics, graphing data, prediction and association, parametric inferential statistics, nonparametric inferential statistics and statistics for test construction. More than 275 screenshots (including sample output) throughout the book show students exactly what to expect as they follow along using SPSS. The book includes a glossary of statistical terms and practice exercises. A complete set of online resources including video tutorials and output files for students, and PowerPoint slides and test bank questions for instructors, make How to Use SPSS® the definitive, field-tested resource for learning SPSS. New to this edition: Fully updated to the reflect SPSS version 29. Every screen shot has been recaptured. New video supplements for all practice exercises. References to significance levels have been updated to reflect the new SPSS output format. Effect size is now shown in output for many procedures and reference to some effect size has been moved from Appendix A to be more integrated into the chapters. Sample results sections now also include effect size where SPSS directly calculates effect size. A new section covering the EXPLORE command has been added to Chapter 3.
Publication Date: 2024 -
SPSS Statistics Workbook
by
Practice making sense of data with IBM's SPSS Statistics software SPSS Statistics Workbook For Dummies gives you the practice you need to navigate the leading statistical software suite. Data management and analysis, advanced analytics, business intelligence--SPSS is a powerhouse of a research platform, and this book helps you master the fundamentals and analyze data more effectively. You'll work through practice problems that help you understand the calculations you need to perform, complete predictive analyses, and produce informative graphs. This workbook gives you hands-on exercises to hone your statistical analysis skills with SPSS Statistics 28. Plus, explanations and insider tips help you navigate the software with ease. Practical and easy-to-understand, in classic Dummies style. Practice organizing, analyzing, and graphing data Learn to write, edit, and format SPSS syntax Explore the upgrades and features new to SPSS 28 Try your hand at advanced data analysis procedures For academics using SPSS for research, business analysts and market researchers looking to extract valuable insights from data, and anyone with a hankering for more stats practice.
Publication Date: 2023
Online Courses
Websites
Online Tutorials
-
The makers of Stata maintain this extensive library of short video tutorials.
Websites
-
Stata DocumentationThe official user guide, along with manuals and examples for using specific statistical methods in Stata.
-
Stata Learning ModulesBeginner-friendly guide to Stata from UCLA's Advanced Research Computing.
eBooks
-
The Simple Guide to SAS
by
Start your journey with SAS. Have you just accepted a new job as a data analyst and need to learn SAS fast? Or perhaps you want to make a career change into programming and you're not sure where to begin. The Simple Guide to SAS: From Null to Novice is the perfect book to get you started. Written for individuals with no prior programming experience, this book teaches the basics of learning SAS using hands-on examples and step-by-step explanations in a short, easy-to-understand guide. Topics covered in this book include: DATA and PROC Steps DATA Step Processing Setting Up SAS Libraries Importing and Exporting Data Viewing and Summarizing Data Sorting and De-duplicating Data Filtering Data and Conditional Logic SAS Functions Formatting Variables Combining and Aggregating Data The Simple Guide to SAS provides solutions to common business problems, identifies pitfalls to avoid, and includes sample code with data for readers to practice their knowledge.
Publication Date: 2024 -
Building Regression Models with SAS
by
Advance your skills in building predictive models with SAS! Building Regression Models with SAS: A Guide for Data Scientists teaches data scientists, statisticians, and other analysts who use SAS to train regression models for prediction with large, complex data. Each chapter focuses on a particular model and includes a high-level overview, followed by basic concepts, essential syntax, and examples using new procedures in both SAS/STAT and SAS Viya. By emphasizing introductory examples and interpretation of output, this book provides readers with a clear understanding of how to build the following types of models: general linear models quantile regression models logistic regression models generalized linear models generalized additive models proportional hazards regression models tree models models based on multivariate adaptive regression splines Building Regression Models with SAS is an essential guide to learning about a variety of models that provide interpretability as well as predictive performance.
Publication Date: 2023
Online Courses
Websites
-
SAS Learning ModulesBeginner-friendly guide to SAS from UCLA's Advanced Research Computing.
eBooks
-
R for Data Science
by
Publication Date: 2023This book introduces you to R, RStudio, and the tidyverse, a collection of R packages designed to work together to make data science fast, fluent, and fun. Suitable for readers with no previous programming experience.
Online Courses
eBooks
-
Python Data Analytics: With Pandas, NumPy, and Matplotlib
by
Publication Date: 2023 -
Python for Data Analysis
by
Get the definitive handbook for manipulating, processing, cleaning, and crunching datasets in Python. Updated for Python 3.10 and pandas 1.4, the third edition of this hands-on guide is packed with practical case studies that show you how to solve a broad set of data analysis problems effectively. You'll learn the latest versions of pandas, NumPy, and Jupyter in the process. Written by Wes McKinney, the creator of the Python pandas project, this book is a practical, modern introduction to data science tools in Python. It's ideal for analysts new to Python and for Python programmers new to data science and scientific computing. Data files and related material are available on GitHub. Use the Jupyter notebook and IPython shell for exploratory computing Learn basic and advanced features in NumPy Get started with data analysis tools in the pandas library Use flexible tools to load, clean, transform, merge, and reshape data Create informative visualizations with matplotlib Apply the pandas groupby facility to slice, dice, and summarize datasets Analyze and manipulate regular and irregular time series data Learn how to solve real-world data analysis problems with thorough, detailed examples
ISBN: 9781098104030Publication Date: 2023
Online Courses
Websites
-
Google's Python ClassUnlike R, Python is a general-purpose programming language. This site offers a more general introduction to Python, which you may want for background knowledge before moving on to using Python for data analysis.
Accessing Software
Open-Source Software
Both R and Python are free and open source. NUIT's Research Data Services offers installation guidelines:
Proprietary Software
Northwestern provides access to licensed software in the library computer labs and on NUWorkspace, a virtual desktop. NUIT also makes free or discounted software licenses available. In addition to these campus-wide resources, your department may have software licenses you can access.
| Stata | SPSS | SAS | Matlab | StatTransfer | Excel | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
|
*select PCs only
|
* | * | ||||
| NUWorkspace | -- | -- | ||||
| Free/discounted license via NUIT | -- | -- |
