Gateway to Europe’s national libraries, formerly called Gabriel. Allows the cross-searching of a number of European national libraries. Also includes links to the electronic resources and digital collections made available by each national library, along with information about each library’s collections and services.

A simple listing of home pages for the various national libraries of the world, maintained on Wikipedia by the International Federation of Library Associations and Institutions (IFLA).

Maintained by Berkeley Digital Library. An extensive system of links to libraries all over the world, though at times the link is to the home page of the institution rather than of the library of that institution.

This web catalog allows users to search the “Reference Collections” (the main collection of the British Library in London), or the Document Supply Center in Boston Spa, which is rich in technical reports, journals, and proceedings.

Catalog entries for a number of universities in the United Kingdom and Ireland, including Cambridge, Oxford, University of London, and Trinity College, Dublin. Can be searched by author, title, and subject (the last is actually a keyword search)

Offers access to books acquired by the Bibliothèque Nationale since 1970 and periodicals since 1960, along with the other materials. Older items are gradually being added to this catalog.

This website provides access to the impressive full-text collection of the Bibliotheque Nationale de France, which includes many 19th-century periodicals.

Catalog for the holdings of several thousand French libraries.

Major site allows the cross searching of most online catalogs from Germany, Austria and Switzerland, as well many national library catalogs from Europe and North America.

Italian libraries are highly decentralized; this is a good guide to Italian library catalogs.

Online catalog of the national library of Spain.

Catalog of the Russian State Library in Moscow.