Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Accessing Full Text
Some article databases provide full text while most only provide references to articles.
Look out for the purple "Find it @ NU" button among your database search results.
Click on the button to see if Northwestern provides full text access to the article via one of our electronic journal packages.
Produced by the American Psychological Association, this database is a comprehensive index to the professional and academic literature in psychology, counseling and related disciplines. Covers 1860-present.
You can use the list of PsycINFO Classification Codes
to narrow the context of your search to a particular topical area. Select the code you want then add it to your search by using the Advanced Search mode. Enter the code in one of the search boxes and select CC Classification as the field.
Web of Science
Provides access to the Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Covers 1945-present. Also includes the Conference Proceedings Citation Index-Science (1990-present).
Companion to the PsycINFO database. PsycEXTRA covers technical, annual and government reports, conference papers, newsletters, magazines, newspapers, consumer brochures, and more not found in other databases. Covers mostly back to the 1940s, with some earlier material.
Annual Review of Clinical Psychology
Annual edited volume of articles provides comprehensive reviews of significant developments in the field of clinical psychology and psychiatry, covering theory and application of psychological principles to address recognized disorders, including schizophrenia, mood, anxiety, childhood, substance use, cognitive, and personality disorders. Covers 2005-present.
Annual Review of Psychology
Annual edited volume of articles demonstrating the current trends in research and inquiry in the field of psychology, including biological bases of behavior, sensation and perception, cognitive processes, animal learning and behavior, human development, psychopathology, clinical and counseling psychology, social psychology, personality, environmental psychology, community psychology and more. Covers 1950-present.
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database, including peer-reviewed titles from international publishers, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, quality web sources. Subject coverage : Chemistry, Physics, Mathematics and Engineering ; Life and Health Sciences ; Social Sciences, Psychology and Economics ; Biological, Agricultural and Environmental Sciences
Definitive source of full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology published by the APA and allied organizations. Think of this as a full-text subset of what you'd find in PsycINFO. Covers 1894-present.
A service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine that includes citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to 1948.
MEDLINE (via OVID)
MEDLINE is widely recognized as the premier source for bibliographic and abstract coverage of biomedical literature. Covers 1950-present.
Social Services Abstracts
Provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. Covers 1979-present.
Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Covers 1963-present.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text
Provides indexing for journals from nursing and other allied health fields, including counseling and educational and occupational psychology. Covers 1981-present.
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS)
Provides bibliographic information from an international selection of publications in the fields of economics, political science, sociology, and anthropology. Covers 1951-present.
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials
Index to major religion and theology journals selected by some of the major religion scholars in the United States. Covers 1949-present.
Database sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to education-related literature, including pedagogy, counseling and psychology. Covers 1966-present.
Provides references to journal articles and books in the field of education. Covers 1983-present.
Academic Search Complete
A scholarly, full-text database of journal articles for nearly every academic field of study. Covers 1975-present.
Provides electronic access to back issues of core scholarly journals in the humanities, social science, and science. While coverage of these journals goes back to the first issue, the most recent issues will be for 3-5 years ago.