Research Guides: *Education: Getting Started

Key Resources

ERIC This link opens in a new window
Database sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to education-related literature, including pedagogy, counseling and psychology. Covers 1966-present.
Education in Video This link opens in a new window
Education in Video provides a collection of streaming video developed specifically for training and developing teachers. Upon completion, the collection will contain more than 3,000 video titles totaling 1,300 hours of teaching demonstrations, lectures, documentaries, and primary-source footage of students and teachers in actual classrooms. It will give education faculty, students, and in-service teachers a single source for the best research-based professional development video resources available.
Education Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Education Abstracts brings you comprehensive coverage of an international range of English-language periodicals, monographs and yearbooks that are related to education
Professional Development Collection This link opens in a new window
The database provides a highly specialized collection of electronic information especially for professional educators. This collection offers information on everything from children's health and development to cutting-edge pedagogical theory and practice.

Education Week (Online)
Education Week content from 37 print editions published yearly is posted on this Web site as the newspaper is being mailed. In between issues, the Web site is updated daily with the latest news, research, and commentary from the K-12 world. All content becomes part of a searchable archive going back to 1981 of previously published content. The older content as well as the Web-only updates are exclusive to EdWeek.org and can’t be found in any other databases.
The Teacher channel providing a lively forum for news, information, and opinion for practitioners. You’ll also find practical teaching tips as well as professional development advice. Special, in-depth reports on Curriculum and Instruction , Classroom Management , Diversity , Assessment, Accountability, Achievement , Inside Classroom Management- Ideas & Solutions , Common Standards , Discipline , E-Learning , Early Childhood , School Climate, Health and Student Life , Special Education , Politics and Policy and much more. Digital Directions which keeps you current on how technology is impacting classroom learning and school management. The Research Center which conducts annual policy surveys, collects data, and performs annual analysis. The Center also manages a database of state policy indicators. Exclusive online-only content, including 50 blogs on vitally important K-12 topics. Multimedia tools, including videos & infographics and photo galleries.

PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Produced by the American Psychological Association, this database is a comprehensive index to the professional and academic literature in psychology, counseling and related disciplines. Covers 1860-present.