Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Dissertations from Other Universities
The University Library owns only a few dissertations completed by students at other universities (an exception is the Africana Collection which purchases extensively within African studies). Those that are available can be found in NUcat.
More and more universities are providing free online access to their dissertations and theses. If you know the university where the dissertation or thesis was completed, check their library catalog to see if a free digital copy is available. There are also some consortial efforts to provide open access dissertations and theses. Some examples include:
DART-Europe E-theses Portal
A partnership of research libraries and library consortia who are working together to improve global access to European research theses.
EThoS - Electronic Theses Online Service
The aim of EThOS is to offer a 'single point of access' where researchers the world over can access ALL theses produced by UK Higher Education. This service is still in beta, but you can access over 250,000 records and access a large number of free full text.
OhioLINK ETD Center
A free, online database of Ohio’s masters and doctoral theses and dissertations from participating OhioLINK member schools. It contains the abstract for all included theses and dissertations. The full-text is also available if it was submitted.
PQDT Open (ProQuest)
PQDT Open provides the full text of open access dissertations and theses free of charge.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global
With more than 2 million entries, PQD&T offers comprehensive listings for U.S. doctoral dissertations back to 1861, with extensive coverage of dissertations from many non-U.S. institutions. A number of masters theses are also listed. Thousands of dissertations are available full text, and abstracts are included for dissertations from the mid-1980s forward.
If you would like to view a dissertation from another university, you can place an Interlibrary Loan request to see if a copy can be borrowed.
Center for Research Libraries (CRL)
The Center for Research Libraries (CRL), of which Northwestern University is a member, collects foreign dissertations and will often order requested titles to add to their collection. You can place interlibrary loan requests for these dissertations.